Five Minute Friday_Blue

I’m so thankful I can incorporate my one word, thankful, into my favorite Friday activity – Five Minute Friday, which I confess takes longer than five minutes for me to compose because I’m a deep slow thinker, but only takes five minutes to read. That counts, right? This week, the word is blue.

GO

Blue. The sky that greets me each morning as the sun rises, riding my bicycle with a cool breeze on my back or a howling wind in my face. The ocean on a clear, windless day, ocean flat as glass, toes visible to the ocean floor where little fishes swim carefree up and down the coast. The winter sky when the snows fall silently to the earth, blanketing things under the ground that are being born, formed into beautiful things we can only dream of. The jays that fly through the sky, defying gravity, soaring, gliding, happy, free. 

Blue. The ephod. The pomegranates. The screen at the entrance of the tent of meeting. The cords. The turban. The cover of the altar. The royal things of the Lord. 

Amazing what a little shift in perspective can do for a color. When did we take such a beautiful word and make it into a mood? 

STOP

Happy Friday!

12 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday_Blue

  1. Great post!
    Loved how you described blue in association with nature and then the association of the Holy tabernacle.
    And remember there is even the divine in “feeling blue”. Jesus was a man of sorrows but was then resurrected to the blue heavenlies. That is our inheritance!
    Enjoy your weekend.
    Cheers,
    Leah

    • I’m always so happy to see you here Leah! Thank you for the reminder of Jesus as the man of sorrows flying off into the blue heavenly.

Comments are closed.