Five Minute Friday_Follow

I’m so thankful I can incorporate my one word, thankful, into my favorite Friday activity – Five Minute Friday, which I confess takes longer than five minutes for me to compose because I’m a deep slow thinker, but only takes five minutes to read. That counts, right? This week, the word is follow. 

GO

The day I heard Jesus say follow me, my life changed instantly and dramatically. I went from being hopeless to hopeful, drunk to sober, unforgiving to forgiven, unwanted to wanted, lost to found. 

That first year. I don’t remember all the days or details now, but I remember it was one of the best years of my life, full of learning, gratitude, love, awe. 

But life doesn’t stop. Little by little, the world surrounds me and encroaches on my personal space, inching closer and closer, threatening to choke out the fire burning in my heart. Sometimes the world ambushes me, suffocating the fire down to just the glow of an ember. I cry out, Jesus!  The world backs away. The fire catches new oxygen and burns bright again. 

He never promised it would be easy, life. He did promise I wouldn’t be alone. So I will follow him. I will not turn back. Only he has the words of eternal life. 

STOP

Happy Friday!

9 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday_Follow

  1. Your words and your storytelling are beautiful and it’s easy to know that they spill from a grateful, faith-filled heart. You capture truth quickly in this short post and it resonates deeply; how the world crowds us and crowds out Jesus. But there is power in His name!

    My favorite image: Sometimes the world ambushes me, suffocating the fire down to just the glow of an ember. I cry out, Jesus! The world backs away. The fire catches new oxygen and burns bright again.

    Thank you for sharing your words and your heart today ❤

  2. I am so thankful for you and the testimony you’ve shared in the time I’ve known you through the blogging world. What an amazing story you have to share about finding Jesus and following Him! I am with you in that I do not want to turn back. Have a wonderful weekend! Blessings, Carrie

  3. Love your description of being consumed by unwanted and overwhelming ‘life’…exactly how I feel sometimes…..(have missed reading your posts the last few weeks, I always seek yours out…..but have been so busy)…

  4. Michelle, so glad we were Round 6 listees!!! Blessings to you sister. Hoping the seeds sown in SFB will bear eternal fruit for the Kingdom. xo

Comments are closed.