Five Minute Friday_Door

I’m so thankful I can incorporate my one word, thankful, into my favorite Friday activity – Five Minute Friday, which I confess takes longer than five minutes for me to compose because I’m a deep slow thinker, but only takes five minutes to read. That counts, right? This week, the word is door.

GO

Today is my birthday. To celebrate this year, I decided to take a trip to Northern California to see a dear old friend. I’m having the best time. Packing in so much touristy stuff. Seeing things. Checking items off my bucket list. 

But to see this friend. She stuck by me at my lowest. We have a special language. We have a rhythm. She doesn’t know the Lord. She attended Catholic school when nuns were mean. She’s been losing her eyesight for 20 years. She is hard. Like the granite in Yosemite. 

When I bring up Jesus in conversation she becomes quiet. Listens respectfully but won’t engage. The door of her heart firmly closed, locked, curtains shut. 

But I love her. Will keep loving her. Trusting God to do what God does best. Thankful he trusted me to be her friend. 

STOP

Happy Friday from beautiful Northern California!

7 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday_Door

  1. Awesome post!
    I believe God would not keep the door of your relationship open for so many years and then let the door of her heart stay shut. He patiently, softly knocks, and will bust through in a surprising way, Your job is to show up because she simply is your friend. It sounds like that is just what you are doing.
    Happy Birthday friend!
    Cheers.

Comments are closed.