Five Minute Friday_Tomorrow

I’m so thankful I can incorporate my one word, thankful, into my favorite Friday activity – Five Minute Friday, which I confess takes longer than five minutes for me to compose because I’m a deep slow thinker, but only takes five minutes to read. That counts, right? This week, the word is tomorrow.

GO

I’ve been having a really hard time at work lately. I think it’s a combination of knowing I’m leaving soon to begin a new adventure and just being burned out. 

Healthcare is just not what it should be. It’s become a big business. The patient’s welfare has been sacrificed to the bottom line. Do more faster for less. It makes me want to scream it’s so wrong. I just want to quit all the time. I’m so over it. Just yesterday, I was crying to God to let me quit, to let me be quiet and ignore the people around me. I was so happy to get out of there. 

Then tomorrow comes. New day. New perspective. Good night’s sleep. 

Reading about what it looks like to suffer for the Lord’s sake in 1 Peter 4, how Jesus restores Peter and says “follow me” in John 21:15-19, and how God commands us to not ignore even a lost animal in Deuteronomy 22 is like a breath of fresh air from the Holy Spirit into my weary soul. 

If I quit, if I ignore the things going on around me at work, who will stick up for the person on the table?

So when you reach the end of the day and you think you can’t go one more step, face one more problem, crawl into bed, close your eyes and rest. God has it and tomorrow is a new day. 

STOP

Happy Friday!

6 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday_Tomorrow

  1. I can relate. I loved this part – “Who will stick up for the person on the table?” It sounds like people are lucky when you are there, sticking up for them. As hard as it is some days – we need more people willing to “stick up for the person on the table!” Thank you for being that kind of person. – Sarah, stopping by from Five Minute Friday

  2. What encouraging truth! Yes, I also find that so many things that keep me awake at night are so much better in the light of day. Hope is always found in the *tomorrows* of life. And that is because of my faith in Jesus – the One who is the same yesterday, today, and tomorrow!

    This verse:

    “Weeping may last through the night, but joy comes with the morning.” (Psalm 30:5, NLT)

    GOD BLESS!

Comments are closed.