Five Minute Friday_Relief

I’m so thankful I can incorporate my one word, thankful, into my favorite Friday activity – Five Minute Friday, which I confess takes longer than five minutes for me to compose because I’m a deep slow thinker, but only takes five minutes to read. That counts, right? This week, the word is Relief.

GO

Three years ago, I was still living my life trying to prove to God I was good enough to love. I was trying so hard to be a good person, to not let him down, be a disappointment.

If I had a bad day, I’d be all torn up inside with guilt and despair, wondering how God could possibly want me or love me when there are just so many other people who deserve to be loved.

Then I saw a sermon by Tullian Tchividjian. He said that God doesn’t love me more on the days I think I did alright and he doesn’t love me less on the days I think I was horrible, he loves me because I believe In the finished work of Jesus Christ alone.

A light bulb turned on in my brain and suddenly, I was set free from the need to prove myself to God or anybody else!

Amazing grace! It was like being born again again! What a relief for my burdened heart.

This is the good news! It is a relief.

STOP

Happy Friday!

12 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday_Relief

  1. I absolutely LOVE this line – “he loves me because I believe In the finished work of Jesus Christ alone.” We seem to take FOREVER to grasp this wonderful piece of the grace of God by putting our human thinking and way of doing things onto God’s way of salvation. Once grasped, as you said, RELIEF! Thank you for sharing!
    Blessings,
    Tammy
    #FMF

  2. So glad we have victory over perfectionism knowing that He only is perfect. We are perfectly loved and accepted. I read that T guy’s book…long name…good words. 🙂 Jenn, FMF

  3. It is rather amazing, and certainly reassuring, to know that when God looks at us, He sees the righteousness of Jesus. He views us through the wounded hands of our Savior. There is nothing we could ever do to earn that love, nor to ever lose it. And that Truth is what brings me hope and security. I share with you the tremendous sense of relief at that very Good News!!

    GOD BLESS!

  4. What wonderful relief to be reminded that He loves us no matter what we do! Thanks for sharing your heart once again! I hope you have a great week! Hugs, Carrie

Comments are closed.