The One About Shame

And he took bread, and when he had given thanks, he broke it and gave it to them, saying, “This is my body, which is given for you. Do this in remembrance of me.” (‭Luke‬ ‭22‬:‭19‬ ESV)

Lately, every time I walk into work, there is an intense battle between my spirit and my flesh.

I have such good intentions to be joyful, to be light, to bear up, to encourage, to make my co-workers look good, to submit joyfully to my leaders.

Then my flesh kicks in. I compare my day to others. I grumble at the unfairness of the way I’m treated.

Yesterday, I thought my head would explode from the battle that was happening inside me. I cried big fat tears of shame as I could feel the eyes of the Lord looking at me intensely, the way he must have looked at Peter on that fateful night of denial, not with condemnation, but sorrow and compassion for his lost friend.

I am undone as I sit here during this holiest of weeks and remember the love of my Savior, knowing that he dies over and over and over for my sins even after I surrendered my life to him.

And I am thankful for the unfailing love of God bestowed on me with mercy because of the finished work of Jesus Christ, that nothing can separate us ever again.

Amazing grace that saved a wretch like me.

Thankful to join 3DLessons4Life

