Five Minute Friday_Break

I’m so thankful I can incorporate my one word, thankful, into my favorite Friday activity – Five Minute Friday, which I confess takes longer than five minutes for me to compose because I’m a deep slow thinker, but only takes five minutes to read. That counts, right? This week, the word is break.

GO

There are things in life that make us or break us. Do you think the things that break us are good?

If I was answering this question as a kid, I would say no. But now that I’m in the middle years, I know God used every little breaking thing to grow me into the person he created me to be.

If you look at life from a linear perspective, with one end being rigid and the other end being flexible, all the breaking has moved me closer to the flexible end.

I’m not a fan of breaking. But I am a fan of my Father. I’m willing to trust him when he breaks me because I know he only allows things for my own good. I’m happy to say I’m getting more flexible with time. Well… At least on the inside. Ha!

STOP

Happy Friday!

13 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday_Break

  1. Love this: “I’m not a fan of breaking. But I am a fan of my Father. I’m willing to trust him when he breaks me because I know he only allows things for my own good.” No one really wants to be broken, but we do trust God to do what’s best for our good and His glory. Thank you for your words today. Visiting from FMF.

  2. I’m right there with you – I totally wrote more than five minutes this week! But sometimes your words need to be processed as you write them.

    “I’m not a fan of breaking. But I am a fan of my Father.” Yes. This. The beauty in this is that it takes multiple breaks and healing to get to a place where we can admit this. While we don’t like it, we appreciate what God is doing in us through the breaks.

  3. Micey,
    I loved the imagery of the linear perspective of you being hard at one end and flexible at the end, because of the breaking.
    So great, I will remember that.
    I don’t think we often equate growing Christian attributes with “flexible” but you are right. Flexible people do not have to be in control!
    Cheers,
    Leah

  4. Great thoughts!!

    I’m not a fan of *breaking* either. Also, I don’t enjoy pruning, refining, or transforming (!!). But, if all of this work makes me look more like Jesus, then yes, it’s definitely worth it. So I will trust Him in the process…

    Me? Not flexible either. Although I can still tie my own shoes!! 🙂

    GOD BLESS!

  5. You have such an amazing testimony. Sometimes, being broken is just what we need. Like you, I’m not a big fan of breaking either. But the times God has broken me were times my faith grew. Blessings, Carrie

  6. Great, great post…..so so true….being broken is what we need….I’ve realised, after reading many of the FMF posts for this week, actually, that what I’ve been through recently has had, as its major benefit, the effect of breaking me of my tendency towards self-reliance…..as you say, He only allows things that are for our own good.

Comments are closed.