The One Where I Figure It Out

I was never meant to be a long term missionary, not in the traditional sense, packing everything up in my casket, sailing for faraway shores, leaving all I love behind. Oh, it sounded romantic and dreamy. It sounded like something I really wanted to be. But it was never in my DNA. It wasn’t part of God’s plan for me.

How did I finally figure it out?

It’s been a process. The biggest problem for me has been this deep seeded need to meet the expectations of others, always trying to make others like me.

After almost 10 years in relationship with the Lord, I’ve finally chosen to be me, the me he knew before I was born. I’ve decided to accept I am who I am, to stop trying to be who others want me to be, to make others like me as if something is wrong with me. To fit the mold of cookie cutter people that exists in our culture, even United States Christianity.

All this to say, I am another, less acknowledged by the church, type of long term missionary. I am itinerant. I like to roam, wander, travel, move, all over the place. I am like the apostle Paul in my missionary adventures. Because you see, I love making Christ known wherever I am, wherever I go.

As I plan my next adventure to Arizona, I am praying for and dreaming of all the people the Lord will put in my path who need to be encouraged in their faith, who have never met Jesus and I can introduce them to him, who I can help to fall in love with our Savior.

So you see, I am a long term missionary. My mission is to make much of Christ, to make him known, to glorify him, to shout his nameE from rooftops. He is the reason I live!

Happy Wednesday!

Thankful to join 3DLessons4Life#TellHisStory, Three Word WednesdayTuesday at Ten, Coffee For Your Heart

16 thoughts on “The One Where I Figure It Out

  1. Love this Michelle! Especially this part> “I’ve decided to accept I am who I am, to stop trying to be who others want me to be, to make others like me as if something is wrong with me. To fit the mold of cookie cutter people that exists in our culture, even United States Christianity.”

    I’m excited for you!

  2. I’m pretty glad most of life is a process because abruptness can be overwhelming. That process is where God has shaped me. Sometimes it seems to happen so fast and other times seem so slow. But I guess our perception of time doesn’t matter as much as knowing the One who is in control of time and everything else. Thanks for sharing your story here. I’m glad you linked up at #ThreeWordWednesday.

  3. God has a perfect plan. Love that you have found the plan He has for you and are walking in it. Keep traveling, missionary.
    Thanks for sharing.
    Blessings,
    Donna
    Visiting from Tuesdays at Ten

  4. Me too. It’s wonderful when we figure it out. God made me a missionary. 3 months at a time. God bless both of us.

  5. Love this and love how you found yourself in who Christ wants you to be. Arizona will be quite the adventure I am sure but I know God will show up through you in the journey. Blessings!

  6. I’ve realized in the last couple of years that we become who we think we should be based on our experience. Your experience led you to believe it was an overseas missionary – long-term. My experience led me to believe for awhile that it was to be a nun. I felt that calling – and the only women I knew who dedicated their lives to God were nuns. Both of us were called to be “unsung” missionaries – the ones in the daily – I never thought of Jesus loving in the daily was missionary work – It’s taken me – what – 50+ years to realize that my experience through which I see my life and my choices are puny in comparison to what God has designed and planned! Wishing you blessing in this realized mission field!

Comments are closed.