Five Minute Friday_Plan

I’m so thankful I can incorporate my one word, thankful, into my favorite Friday activity – Five Minute Friday, which I confess takes longer than five minutes for me to compose because I’m a deep slow thinker, but only takes five minutes to read. That counts, right? This week, the word is plan.

GO

I have a plan. I am moving to Arizona with my favorite #1 son to begin a new chapter.

So far, all the doors are wide open. Everything is falling into place.

But for me, the problem with a plan is the waiting. Because, despite all the efforts made to bring the plan to fruition, there is still waiting involved. Nothing happens instantaneously. No matter how much I want them to happen that way.

I still have to go to work at my current job. I still have to run errands. I still have to do laundry. I still have to do the everyday things that need doing. Plus now I’ve added all the extra tasks necessary for the plan. The paperwork, fingerprinting, TB testing, doctor visits, informing the management, researching moving companies, breaking a lease.

I don’t mind the tasks for the plan though. The tasks make me feel like I have some control over all of it. And Lord knows, I like to feel like I’m in control. Doesn’t everybody? But now that almost all the tasks are completed, I know I have to lay the plan before the Lord. He is the ultimate plan maker.

It’s time to sit back and do the thing I like least. Wait.

STOP

Happy Friday!

6 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday_Plan

  1. Hello Michelle,
    I can most definitely relate to what you shared about in your post. Although I’m not getting ready to move, in planning and waiting for a job, the planning part I enjoy, the waiting is the more challenging aspect. I’ll be praying for your move to Arizona and for this time of waiting.
    – Beverly (visiting from Five- Minute Friday link up)
    http://www.beverlybenitez.com

  2. I am going through similar plans right now. My husband’s job took us to Texas and now we have decided to go to Georgia with it. We’ve been in Texas since November and plan to go to Georgia this summer. Like you, I am excited for the upcoming change and am ready to get over there. We’ve moved 13 times in 12 years of marriage (military). We are leaving that life for a new one and so we finally get to settle down for a bit. The waiting for those plans to come together like lease breaking and buying a house is hard. Before we can even buy a house, we have to sell our CA one. All of it takes time but it’s not easy to wait that time out. WOW! Arizona from Florida! How exciting for the new changes in your life. I will be praying for you as you prepare for the next journey of your life. Blessings, Carrie

Comments are closed.