Thankful_February 16_February 22

This has been a week of ups and downs. I find world news to be utterly exhausting. CNN seems to be determined to saturate us with bad news. While I am all for staying up to date on current events, I’m not up for being saturated by them. Add that to the state of affairs of my own immediate family and life can just become overwhelming with the snap of your fingers.

So how do we keep joy? I do believe it’s by being thankful. For all of it. Good, bad, and ugly. It’s my word for 2015.

2/16

139. Even though I get overwhelmed by all the trouble in the world, by the trouble even in the lives of the people I love, I’m thankful I don’t bury my head in the sand anymore.

140. Hard as it may be to accept, I believe I have the gift of lamentation and I need to be thankful for all things because thankfulness is the will of God.

141. That I earn enough money to be able to help others with financial needs.

2/17

142. Dry ice. Because dry ice is fun. When you pour water on it, it makes fog! What could be more fun than that?

143. The joy of the Lord is my strength when I think I can’t take one more minute of the craziness of the world.

144. The ability to turn everything off. The TV. The Internet. The air handlers. The lights. The bad news. Social media. Yeah, turning stuff off is something to be thankful for.

2/18

145. Celebrating my #1 son leaving a bad job. He always has trouble moving on. I’m really proud of the man he’s becoming.

146. The wonder of turning on a two wheel vehicle. It makes me praise the Lord for his gift of physical laws.

147. Ash Wednesday. Remembering I am dust and to dust I will return. That the Lord’s mercies are new every single morning.

2/19

148. Planning a crazy new adventure with my #1 son is so very exciting! And just like that, a new dream springs to life.

149. Having so many good choices as to make my head spin.

150. Not revealing the crazy new Adventure I’m planning with my #1 son just might make my head explode from The excitement!

2/20

151. That my #2 Son is super excited about the crazy new adventure I’m going to have with my #1 son.

152. That I can be open and honest about my shortcomings.

153. That I can laugh at myself when I make seriously bonehead mistakes, like stabbing myself in the hand with a sharp object to see if it was actually a sharp object.

2/21

154. That my #1 son is so over the moon happy and excited to plan our super big adventure.

155. Come to me, all who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you, and learn from me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light. Matthew 11: 28–30

156. Meeting up with an Internet friend and meeting a new person in real life who became an Internet friend so we could have lunch, And talk about faith, God, Jesus, theology is a super fantastic way to spend A Saturday afternoon.

2/22

157. Watching anticipation build as I wait to make the super exciting new adventure announcement Facebook official.

158. That GustaferGPig gives me a good chuckle every night when I turn the lights out by doing a quick little run around his house. Every. Single. Night. He is adorable!

159. The Lord is my light and my salvation, whom shall I fear? The Lord is the stronghold of my life, of whom shall I be afraid? Psalms 27:1

Happy Sunday!

Thankful to join 3DLessons4Life, The Weekend Brew, Sunday Stillness, #TellHisStory, Three Word WednesdaySpiritual Sundays, Give Me Grace, Unite, SDG Gathering, Monday Musings, Small Wonder

21 thoughts on “Thankful_February 16_February 22

  1. Being thankful is such an antidote for SO many things. I was reading just yesterday about choosing thankfulness to overcome anxiety. Turning everything off is also another good choice we can make from time to time! 🙂 Thanks, Michelle, for sharing.

  2. I always love your lists of thankfulness. They’re real, and I relate to so many of the things you talk about. And, now I am going to go crazy wondering about your grand adventure!! Tell me that you’ll unveil it sometime, yes??

    Your #156 – just this morning I met with a fellow blogger for the first time face-to-face. We had such a wonderful visit! It makes me appreciate even more the community of believers that I have met. And even if I don’t ever meet them in “real” life, I think there’s going to be a Blogger Convention in heaven!!

    GOD BLESS!

    (And to answer the question you left on my blog this morning – my hubby and I live in a small mountain town in Southern California. Today it’s snowing, and 30. For this California girl, that’s cold!!)

  3. I’ve been working on my own Thankfulness list. Some days I struggle and some days I have more than 3. I love your blog description. I too thought missionary work was something you do in a foreign land. I am now seeing that it is more than that.

  4. Thankfulness is a power antidote, friend. I love how you are ‘fleshing’ this out in your words here. And the gift of lamentation? I’m curious to hear more on this, for that, too, is a powerful gift, indeed.

  5. What a beautiful list of gratitude! I love the intrigue of the new adventure!
    And I know what you mean by “too much” news being shouted at us no matter how low the volume is! I am so grateful that God is in control and knows.
    Glad you are my neighbor at Lyli’s today.
    Caring through Christ, ~ linda

Comments are closed.