Thankful_February 20_[FMF]_Open

I’m so thankful I can incorporate my one word, thankful, into my favorite Friday activity – Five Minute Friday, which I confess takes longer than five minutes for me because I’m a deep slow thinker, but only takes five minutes to read. That counts, right? This week, the word is open.

GO

I believe there’s something to be said for being open. For pouring out my heart. For sharing my life with others in this crazy internet world.

I think it’s easier for me to open up here because I don’t have to see your faces. I don’t have to see your reactions. I don’t have to see you cringe when I tell you the things I’ve lived through, that make me feel ashamed. It’s safer for me.

And at the same time, I think being open is helpful to others. It gives them courage to face themselves, to know they are not alone.

So yeah. I’m thankful to be open with you about my life.

STOP

Happy FMF!

10 thoughts on “Thankful_February 20_[FMF]_Open

  1. I so loved reading this! It puts to words things in my heart I haven’t been able to string along to be coherent. Thanks so much for sharing and opening your heart. Your healing and hurt feeds life and little breaths of cool air I into people like me 🙂

  2. I am so grateful that you have chosen to be open too for someone someplace needs to hear your story, your heart, your words. Keep sharing so that God uses all that has taken place in your life to help point others to Him. Blessings!

  3. You and I are wired similarly, in that I too agree to be open is way better than allowing this dark stuff to fester in the secrecy of our souls. I believe bringing things into the Light takes the power away from them in many cases. that and when someone knows the real me, and still chooses to be my friend..what an awesome compliment. So thank you for accepting me for who I am as well. Dm.

    • I’m so happy to call you my friend Doug. You and your wife mean so much to me. And your words, when people know the real me and still choose to be my friend… it really is a compliment. I never thought of it that way before. 😀

  4. So much can be hidden away during a lifetime, but once the secret recesses are allowed to open, the relief pours out and a catharsis takes place. Writing has proved to be that catharsis for me.

Comments are closed.