Thankful_February 8

Well I have managed to blog 39 days in a row. It may be my longest blogging streak ever? That being said, I might as well go for day 40 tomorrow. After tomorrow, I’m going to have to rethink how I document these wonderful things I’m thankful for. Not to worry, there will be posts on thankful. After all, it’s my word for 2015.

115. 20/happy. Some folks want 20/20 vision, other folks want 20/happy vision. That’s what the eye doctor said to me when I went for a recent eye exam and decided to try contact lenses one more time. I agree!

116. Going to church to hear the word of God immediately followed by an in-depth class on redemption with a sweet friend.

117. Spending the afternoon with another sweet friend at her home, drinking tea, catching up after not seeing each other for several months.

I’ve had a very fulfilling Sunday. How about you?

9 thoughts on “Thankful_February 8

  1. especially liked #117. I’m reading a book on encouragement by Larry Crabb that talks about the power of our words to encourage (or the opposite) I can just see the two of you sitting there drinking tea, catching up on life and encouraging each other through your conversation! It is as important as any other means of spiritual nurturing.

    Me…well, I’ve been fighting off a respiratory bug all week, so I’ve been slightly sedated…I’m in the middle of a 3 month “pause” working @ home in my wood shop and working on a book manuscript so I am definitely liven’ the dream ;-)…my dream that is.. thanks for asking DM

    • Oh! I hope you recover quickly Doug. I’m glad you’re able to do some work indoors. I can only imagine how cold it gets in the frozen hinterlands of Iowa. 😉 your life does sound dreamy to me. Be sure to greet your lovely wife from me. 🙂 BTW, do you all have skype?

      • I will tell her you said Hi. Nada, no skype… barely have e-mail and facebook. 😉 How are the boys? How did that 1/2 marathon go for son # 2? well, I think I’m going to call it a day. Good to hear from you. DM

      • The boys are good. This Saturday I’m riding 25 miles with #1 for Habitat for Humanity. #2 did really good in his 1/2 marathon. Now he’s thinking of doing w full marathon. 🙂

  2. Your Sunday sounds amazing. I wasn’t feeling well yesterday, so I didn’t make it to church. Felt kinda blah all day. But, I did have my quiet time, and I was greatly encouraged by these words:
    “My presence will go with you. I’ll see the journey to the end.” (From Exodus, The Message)

    Yup, I’m so grateful for His presence, whether I feel it or not, for I know He is ALWAYS there.

    GOD BLESS!

  3. Totally impressed that you posted 39 days in a row. When I started counting 1,000 gifts – I did one post a week – listing the gifts I’d found during the week – and what they meant to me. I’m not disciplined enough to post every day:) I bet you’re a nurse!!!! Got to be disciplined to be a nurse! I think tea with a friend sounds like a beautiful blessing! Hoping you find all the ones God tucks away for you in a day!

    • Ha ha! I think you know I’m a nurse! 😉 And I don’t know if it’s discipline as much as compulsion? I think it’s more compulsion that needs a tight grip on the reins. 😮

      • I knew you were a nurse – but it takes a special kind of self-discipline to make a compulsion successful! I would definitely want someone with a tight grip on the reins trying to save my life! I think God put a very great gift in you – and like all gifts, they have very two very distinct ways of being used – positive and negative – and it’s all about seeing the goodness and beauty of the positive side of the gift! I used to focus on the negative side of my gift, until God kind of turned it over and said, “No, look at it this way.” I was like, “Well, I never saw that side of it before.” LOL Blessings friend!

Comments are closed.