Advent_December 1

Out of the stump of David’s family will grow a shoot yes, a new Branch bearing fruit from the old root. And the Spirit of the LORD will rest on him the Spirit of wisdom and understanding, the Spirit of counsel and might, the Spirit of knowledge and the fear of the LORD . . . . In that day the heir to David’s throne will be a banner of salvation to all the world. The nations will rally to him, and the land where he lives will be a glorious place. ISAIAH 11:1- 2, 10

The heir to David’s throne will be a banner of salvation to the world! Doesn’t this sound glorious!? A bright giant beautiful banner thrown across the brilliant deep blue sky!

On this first day of Advent, I am longing, yearning for Christ to come. Why am I so jazzed about it this year? I think because this past year has been so emotionally hard. I have felt like every ounce of me has been shriveled up, dead. And finally, finally! I feel alive again! I feel that little shoot of life springing up from the old stump and I am rejoicing!

Come Lord Jesus come!

His… Michelle
Philippians 1:20

Sharing with the folks at Salt+Light.

4 thoughts on “Advent_December 1

  1. Oh YAY!!

    I love that image of the Lord being our banner! Onward Christian soldiers. Marching on together as we follow the One who has already won the victory for us!

    GOD BLESS!

  2. Rejoicing with you, Michelle! This semester has been really tough for me, too, and I feel as though Advent is calling me toward release and rest. And my heart yearns for that – so that I might grow again.

Comments are closed.