five minute friday_give

Colossians 3:15-17
15 And let the peace of Christ rule in your hearts, to which indeed you were called in one body. And be thankful. 16 Let the word of Christ dwell in you richly, teaching and admonishing one another in all wisdom, singing psalms and hymns and spiritual songs, with thankfulness in your hearts to God. 17 And whatever you do, in word or deed, do everything in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through him.

Happy day after Thanksgiving!

I give thanks I was able to go to work and serve my OR by answering the phone, adding cases for today, picking cases for today, and being available in the event of an emergency.

I give thanks that no emergencies arrived between 3pm and 11pm. I give thanks that people were able to be happy and healthy and with their families for at least that brief period of time in my little corner of the world.

I give thanks that I was able to be light and joyful and cheer up my co-worker who accidentally signed up to work on Thanksgiving when she thought she only signed up to be on call.

I give thanks I had a co-worker to keep me company for those 8 hours.

I give thanks for another co-worker who joined us for the free meal the hospital provided, turkey with all the trimmings! I give thanks he joined us because it turns out he has no family or friends and would have been completely alone, but instead he shared in the meal with us!

I give thanks for Jesus! For His life. For His love. For His sacrifice!

I give thanks!

His… Michelle
Philippians 1:20

It’s that time again. Join us at Five Minute Friday! There’s a free advent devotional to download today only! On to Christmas!!!

9 thoughts on “five minute friday_give

  1. Hello! I’m your neighbor here with FMF!

    Thank you – for serving with JOY! I used to work in a hospital. I can relate… always giving. GIve, give, give!! But it’s all for the LORD! And, in turn… HE GIVETH more GRACE!!

    Blessings to you..
    ~Bevy

  2. Oh, what a lovely post…..just goes to show that there are so, so many things to give thanks for, even on what seems to be an ‘ordinary’ day…..your note about your co-worker made me cry. I am so glad he found companionship and comfort with you (I have tears running down my face writing this). Thank you so much for your wonderful post!

  3. I’m so glad to hear that you had a nice time on Thanksgiving. Sounds like God placed you with just the right people!

    You know, as I was reading your post, I kept thinking about the word give. Yes, we must be conscious to GIVE thanks, for sometimes it doesn’t come naturally. It’s a gift that we must choose to give back to the Lord, the One who gives us all good things. Today I am also choosing to GIVE thanks to Him.

    GOD BLESS!

Comments are closed.