transformed by renewing my mind_day 28

Romans 15:1-7

The Example of Christ
15 We who are strong have an obligation to bear with the failings of the weak, and not to please ourselves. 2 Let each of us please his neighbor for his good, to build him up. 3 For Christ did not please himself, but as it is written, “The reproaches of those who reproached you fell on me.” 4 For whatever was written in former days was written for our instruction, that through endurance and through the encouragement of the Scriptures we might have hope. 5 May the God of endurance and encouragement grant you to live in such harmony with one another, in accord with Christ Jesus, 6 that together you may with one voice glorify the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ. 7 Therefore welcome one another as Christ has welcomed you, for the glory of God.

Something I’ve noticed over these last 9 years is God always hears my prayers. Always. But the ones He answers yes to the most often? The ones I pray for others.

Saturday before work I prayed to remember to show up there to serve the patients, to serve my coworkers, to serve my OR, to love on them no matter what, to forget about what I want.

I arrived at work just as the last cases were finishing. On these occasions I usually coast until the night shift nurse shows up at 7pm at which time I go home. But I worked my whole shift and didn’t do one case. Instead I picked 8 cases for Monday. It was so busy Friday the cases didn’t get picked. Imagine what happens when this occurs on a daily basis. It’s like a traffic jam that never seems to clear up.

Did I want to pick case? No. We have a team who does it. I appreciate them so much! They work hard doing a task I do not enjoy. I am so grateful for them! Nevertheless, I prayed to serve my coworkers. This is what they needed. I did it for them.

Now before you all go thinking I’m awesome, don’t! There was a lot of sighing and grumbling involved. I really don’t like picking cases. This felt sacrificial. It cost me something. It felt like the day was never going to end. But it did. Monday there were at least 8 cases that were mostly put together to save someone else time and I didn’t hear any complaints! Small miracle!

Let the transformation continue Jesus.

His… Michelle
Philippians 1:20

This is day 28 of #Write31Days. Also sharing with these: SDG Gathering Unforced Rhythyms

All posts can be found here.

6 thoughts on “transformed by renewing my mind_day 28

  1. Michelle,
    I enjoyed reading your post. Thanks for your efforts in sharing the gospel in not just words but in your daily walk with Christ. People remember more of what we do than what we say. Jesus knew that people would not believe him if he did not show tangible proof; hence, the signs and wonders, and miracles. Be the image that God created you to be.

  2. I love how God continues to work on us – and show us how our prayers can make huge impacts both on people around us and in the Kingdom. I have to learn not to grumble A LOT. 🙂

Comments are closed.