transformed by renewing my mind_day 23

One year ago, I said goodbye to a dream. I left Africa because the Lord said it was time for me to go home. I left people I loved, who loved me too, impossible me.

It has not been an easy transition for me, this coming home. Sometimes I still feel like a displaced person, not knowing where I belong.

I’m still having trouble accepting the Lord’s plan for me right now. It all seems so unimportant next to the dream of Africa. But this is not the way to think. Life carries on regardless of where I am.

And this kind of thinking is purely selfish as I know my family is very happy to have me here.

Last year, the Lord said come home, rest for a year, take care of yourself. Well, the year is up. I sure do hope He has something amazing for me to do this next year. I sure hope He puts a new dream in my heart, a new idea.

Here I am Lord!

His… Michelle
Philippians 1:20

This is day 23 of #Write31Days.Also sharing with the Thought Provoking Thursday crowd.

All posts can be found here.

13 thoughts on “transformed by renewing my mind_day 23

  1. Michelle, as I have sat here & read & reread your post, this verse kept coming to mind. And so, I am wondering if I am not supposed to share it with you (?). “He determined the times set for them & the exact places where they should live.” (Acts 17:26) Any time I have struggled with where I am, I remember this verse & remind myself that every place I go, and every time in my life, is exactly where He has wanted me. May you trust Him & let Him do something new & amazing in your life right where you are today! Blessings!

    • I found your comment very encouraging, as I am still adjusting to a new life in the mountains far from everyone I know. Yes, I know God wants me here, and that verse has greatly comforted me!

  2. Hello Michelle. I am delighted to have found you through Lyli’s place today. I just read through most of your 31 days post and really appreciate your transparency. I found myself drawn to the way you share your heart. And I love the title for your series. May God continue to transform and renew our minds in only the way He can. God bless.

  3. It can feel so hum-drum to come home after a time of intense ministry. But yes, where you are now is important too. The Lord uses us wherever we are. Praying he reveals to you soon what’s next, even if it’s more of the same!

  4. Hi,
    Sounds like you still dream of Africa. God knows the desires of our hearts, but sometimes we are longer in the ‘wait’ than we first expected. Perhaps He has more to do to prepare the way ahead for you.. Enjoy your family while you are in the ‘wait’… and keep writing.

  5. I read a wonderful book by Larry Crabb called, “Shattered Dreams.” It helped me immensely, and got me in touch with my real dream, the deeper one, the dream of knowing God.

    GOD BLESS!

  6. I love your openness and your trust.
    I think I read something about MercyShips…. Did you ever know a friend of mine called Abi? Small, blonde, trained as a doctor and surgeon… Did a lot f stints on MercyShips…
    You are an amazing person Micey. I just KNOW that.

    ff

Comments are closed.