transformed by renewing my mind_day 6

What is the story of your life? The pastor asked this question yesterday. Then he told us a story about a guy who came to him who has believed his life is a mistake. He heard this from his parents when he was a kid. Then he heard it from his boss when his boss said he made a mistake hiring him. It’s the word he latched onto.

It seems to me my brain is hardwired to latch onto the negative. If things can go wrong, they will go wrong, looking for the worst in others instead of the best, expecting others to let me down, believing things are too good to be true. I have a deep mistrust of anything good.

The saddest thing about being hardwired for the negative is it keeps me from seeing all the good things that have happened over the years. Like always having work, a home, food, transportation, healthy kids, a family, friends. And this negative thinking robs me of the joy of what I have right in front of me.

Sure, there’s been hard stuff to deal with, but overall, my life has been smooth, full of happy memories.

What is the story of my life? I know what I want it to be. I want it to be a story filled with love, joy, peace, patience, goodness, kindness, faithfulness, gentleness, and self control. I want people to see Jesus in me. 1 Peter says I am chosen to proclaim the excellencies of Him who called me out of darkness into marvelous light!

As each day passes, the chemicals in my brain become more balanced. As the chemicals are balancing, my focus is shifting, changing the way I think, perceive the world. I am becoming cautiously optimistic.

His… Michelle
Philippians 1:20

This is day 6 in the #Write31Days challenge. Also linking with Monday Musings and Unforced Rhythms.

All posts can be found here.

9 thoughts on “transformed by renewing my mind_day 6

  1. I’m hard-wired for negativity, too. And I always expect the worst. Sure, I rationalize it as being realistically prepared, and to some degree that’s true. But it’s also just me being Negative Nellie. I continue to pray that God will teach me something new – especially in this year when He gave me the word JOY. I am learning – and some of the lessons are tough. But God is breaking through.

    GOD BLESS!

  2. Pretty sure I heard loud & clear from the Lord (via church & radio sermons, blog topics) about some of my worried thoughts. I am to use my mind to REMEMBER the wonderful things the Lord has done in my life. Truthfully, there hasn’t been an experience that the Lord doesn’t use for my good (though I can’t explain that exactly). My general thoughts are that I spend too much time looking back with guilt & regrets instead of remembering how God has worked miraculously in my life (redundant I know, but I love this lesson & it sounds like He is speaking to you along those lines as well Michelle!) Jesus is the Wonderful Counselor! I love Him! Love & prayers, in Jesus, Cynthia

  3. I have just read all of the first 6 of your ’31 days’ posts, ll in one go.. I found your honesty and transparency very refreshing.Keep up the writing,it’s great.

Comments are closed.