transformed by renewing my mind_day 5

I’m visiting my favorite younger son in Gainesville. The weekend would not be complete without visiting his church.

They’re currently in a 3 month series studying John 15. Talk about diving deep! For 3 weeks they’ve been focused on vs 1-7.

“I am the true vine, and my Father is the vinedresser. 2 Every branch in me that does not bear fruit he takes away, and every branch that does bear fruit he prunes, that it may bear more fruit. 3 Already  you are clean because of the word that I have spoken to you. 4 Abide in me, and I in you. As the branch cannot bear fruit by itself, unless it abides in the vine, neither can you, unless you abide in me. 5 I am the vine;  you are the branches. Whoever abides in me and I in him, he it is that bears much fruit, for apart from me you can do nothing. 6 If anyone does not abide in me he is thrown away like a branch and withers; and the branches are gathered, thrown into the fire, and burned. 7 If you abide in me, and my words abide in you, ask whatever you wish, and it will be done for you.

The pastor made the following point —

Words have power. What you meditate on moves your life whether you realize it or not.

Then he defined meditation in a way that really helped me understand the word like never before.

When we learn the words of a song we like we are meditating on that song.

When we read an email over and over, dissecting it word by word, trying to discover what the writer was really trying to communicate, we are meditating on that email.

I, for one, am guilty of this behavior. I never fully understood what I was doing when someone would say something critical to me and I would just play it over and over in my mind.

That meditation would move me in a very negative direction, toward deeper, darker places in my mind until I found myself despairing.

For some of us, chemical balance is a very delicate business. I find it to be circular. My brain is lacking in certain chemicals which leads to being easily angry, sad which leads to more depletion of said chemicals which leads to even more anger, sadness and so on and so on. It’s a cycle that’s hard to break.

I think this is why Jesus is so emphatic about abiding in Him and how I will be able to renew, rewire my mind.

His… Michelle
Philippians 1:20

This is day 5 in #Write31Days. Also linked up @The Weekend Brew.

All posts can be found here.

4 thoughts on “transformed by renewing my mind_day 5

  1. Thanks so much for linking up with The Weekend Brew. I love John 15. I am constantly reminded that I must abide in Jesus, and that His Words must take up residence in my heart. Have a blessed week.

Comments are closed.