five minute friday_new_day 3

A couple of weeks ago, I had a conversation with my oldest favorite son in which he told me I was terribly miserable the first 2 years we lived in Florida.

So I’ve turned my mind back to those days to examine that time period.

The first year we lived in Florida, I was still doing life on my own, making the hole I had been digging for 26 years deeper.

But the second year? I met the Lord the second year. I became a new person the second year?

I was on an emotional high the second year, at least in my own mind.

The more I dig into those memories, the more I know what my boy said is true. I was definitely new in the sense I was newly sober, newly excited about life, newly seeking everything to know about this amazing God who would take me back.

To the outside world who didn’t know me, I was probably pretty tip top. But to the boys who lived under my roof? They were very happy I was sober, but now I was sober, no longer fun. Sober meant I was back in the dark mood that alcohol would help me escape for a few hours each day. Sober meant I was no longer uninhibited, spontaneous, cool.

That second year, I was learning who God is, who I am in Him, what He loves, what He hates. I was new alright, but I hadn’t reached the moment where I could apply the new things I was learning to the people I love most in the world.

His… Michelle
Philippians 1:20

Okay, I know this took me more than 5 minutes to write, but most of my thoughts take more than 5 minutes and I don’t think this will take more than 5 minutes to read, so that counts, right? πŸ˜‰ Join us!

This is also day 3 in my #Write31Days contribution.

All posts can be found here.

13 thoughts on “five minute friday_new_day 3

  1. You know, the first thing that occurred to me is what a blessing it is to have an honest relationship with your son. I have that with my sons, and I’m so grateful. They can tell me the truth about myself, even if it hurts, because they love me truly. So, kudos to your son for being honest, and kudos to you for being willing to hear and reflect on what he said.

    As for the rest of what you wrote, it was so very true. Yes, the Bible teaches that we are new creations in Him, but living the *newness* takes an ongoing process of transformation. Sanctification isn’t for sissies – it’s tough. For it requires the heat of refinement, the process of pruning and uprooting. Ouch. But God can do wonders when we are open to His working.

    I see the beauty in your journey.

    GOD BLESS!

  2. So brave β€” stepping out into the new. So thankful God met you in the dark places and walked with you into sobriety. I don’t know you, but I think you are probably a lot of fun, just in a completely new and unexpected way. Thank you for sharing so honestly here!

    Christy @ A Heartening Life
    http://www.ahearteninglife.com

Comments are closed.