transformed by renewing my mind_day 2

After the day I gave my life to the Lord, I was on an emotional high like no other ever before. I truly felt like a new person.

When I went to work the following week, I interacted with my co-workers with happiness and joy. When I banged my knee on a shelf in the core, the words that normally would have escaped my mouth seemed to be held back in my throat by an invisible hand. I found myself astonished by something new each day that passed.

Three weeks after I gave my life to the Lord, I got to the end of the bottle of rum in the fridge. I had been getting drunk everyday for 5 long years. I had used alcohol as artificial happiness, knowing full well it is actually a depressant, wanting to quit for 2 years, yet not able to stop because the thought of stopping filled me with panic. But I didn’t want to be drunk anymore. So that night I prayed for God to give me the strength to drive by the liquor store, to help me just breathe, to occupy my mind with anything else. Because I knew if I could get through that night, I would be free from the addiction. God answered my prayer. The next day I felt like a new person again!

Great things just kept coming. I was focused like never before. I immediately got involved in church classes about faith. I dove into reading the Word, absorbing it like those old flat sponges they used to sell, when you added water they would spring up into full fledged sponginess.

Transformation through renewing my mind was in full force. I was so optimistic that it was going to be smooth sailing forevermore. Haha! I think my delusions were the merciful kindness the Lord shows to a newly returned lost sheep.

His… Michelle
Philippians 1:20

This is day 2 of #Write31Days. Also linking with 3DLessons4Life.

All posts can be found here.

7 thoughts on “transformed by renewing my mind_day 2

  1. Hi Michelle,

    I understand what you mean about the emotional high experienced by new Christians. Do you think that they are delusions though? Have you managed okay since?
    I don’t think that being a Christian is the easy way. On a day to day basis, the struggle seems endlessly hard still.

    FF

    • Maybe delusion is the wrong word for what I meant which was naively thinking life was going to be super easy from that moment on?

      As my story continues, you’ll see I’m still my own worst enemy, and I’ve struggled with a lot of mental health issues.

      It definitely hasn’t been all sunshine and roses. Thanks for your encouragement! 🙂

  2. When I was reading this, I was reminded of Jesus’ temptation in the wilderness. That whole scenario happened right after Jesus had been baptized, right after God had declared His approval of His Son.

    (From Matthew 3:16-17, and Matthew 4:1):

    “After his baptism, as Jesus came up out of the water, the heavens were opened and he saw the Spirit of God descending like a dove and settling on him. And a voice from heaven said, ‘This is my dearly loved Son, who brings me great joy.’ Then Jesus was led by the Spirit into the wilderness to be tempted there by the devil.”

    I can’t tell you how many times I have experienced a spiritual breakthrough or victory, only to have it followed by severe times of testing or temptation. It’s how the enemy works, isn’t it?

    The Narrow Way is not easy – we have to die to self to follow it. But it is the ONLY way, and only by walking in it can we find LIFE.

    GOD BLESS!

    • Oh Sharon, this serves as just the reminder I needed. I’m so grateful for the other believers in my life who share God’s word. I don’t know that I ever thought of this before. Thank you! 🙂

Comments are closed.