five minute friday_because

Do I believe my life and story matter?

Yesterday, I would have said no.

Because I found myself in a pit of despair, that my life was meaningless, useless, hopeless, un-necessary.

Because the new medication was making me crazier for the first half of the day.

Because it was too strong, making my head too fuzzy, somnolent, not all here. I knew I had to act fast.

Because I know my life matters to my boys, family, friends, co-workers.

Because I know the familiar old lies of the enemy, despite the side effects of a new medication.  So I called the doctor to fix it.

Because I know my life matters to Jesus.

And today I believe it again.

His… Michelle
Philippians 1:20

Figuring out which medication will be best for me is proving to be more challenging than in the past. I was not a little bit frightened yesterday when I felt deep despair about life. This sadness was building up over the last 10 days. What’s particularly weird about it is I only felt these side effects from the time I woke up until about 1pm. Then it would disappear and I would be me again.

Thankfully, the doctor cut the dose in half. Today I woke up feeling totally okay. Praise God!

Linking up @FiveMinuteFriday and Spiritual Sundays.

14 thoughts on “five minute friday_because

  1. Praising God with you for that. I have been dealing with some “med” issues this past few days…although perhaps not the same type of situation as you. Love your words here today, Michelle. Also I love your profile description. Yeah those are perfect words and mindset my friend! Nice to meet you.

  2. I love this line so much, and it is so powerful and true, we do have to chose to believe each day and to declare our lives do matter, because they do!

    Because I know my life matters to Jesus.

    And today I believe it again.

  3. Glad that the *re-adjustment* seems to be working out. Meds can be a tricky thing. I have a friend who has Lyme’s disease, and they’ve been trying for almost a year to “get it right.”

    And yes, your life does matter to Jesus. And He has plans for your story. Keep the faith, Michelle. We’re in this together…

    GOD BLESS!

  4. Praying for you, friend. Your body will take a few weeks to adapt to the medication, and so there is an “uncomfortable” season of about a month or two that you kind of need to “suck it up” to get through. I have been there, and I know how hard it is. May God give you courage and wisdom. May He restore you in every way. Love you

  5. Glad these despondent days do not last. You are extremely important to many people, but mainly to God. Your testimony helps others who struggle with similar problems. Thank you for continuing to share with us.
    Blessings,
    Charlotte

Comments are closed.