battle wounds

The Gospel of John records the risen Jesus as inviting Thomas to “reach your finger and see my hands; and reach your hand, and put it into my side.” Jesus was not a disembodied spirit without flesh and blood as a result of his resurrection from the dead. He was a body, and a body that was wounded. Even the resurrection did not take away his bodily scars! This reality can bring great hope to those who follow Jesus and to those who wonder about how they might find healing at all. For healing did not equate a lack of wounding, or physical perfection – being untouched by the sorrow and suffering of the world gone horribly wrong – even for Jesus.

Healing is not a gift that comes instantly, nor does it always look like what we expect. It is often a slow, painful journey through the void and desolation of suffering. It will not erase our wounds. Yet, the promise of resurrection, of new life that comes even with wounded hands and sides, offers another picture of healing where wounds [emphasis mine] might be honored and redeemed. Slice of Infinity

I think these words are such a comfort for a battle weary world. We live through so much in our short lifespan. Trauma, cancer, diabetes, mental illness.

I never really thought of the significance of the resurrected Christ coming back in the body that he left in, with the scars from the wounds that we inflicted upon him. That they were still visible, worn like metals of honor for all the world to see.

It seems to me, Jesus has given us permission to share our own wounds, scars with everyone we meet, to shout out to a hurting world, “look! I have these issues, but I’m still standing! I am still being healed! Jesus sees me! He sees you! He knows!”

So I will gladly boast in my weakness, for Jesus is strong through it. He is with me. He is for me. He is healing me. He never promised me no suffering, He promised me He would stick with me all the way to the end of the age.

My name is Michelle and I battle with anxiety, depression, mood swings, and chronic pain. But God is with me through it all and I have hope.

7 But we have this treasure in jars of clay, to show that the surpassing power belongs to God and not to us. 8 We are afflicted in every way, but not crushed; perplexed, but not driven to despair; 9 persecuted, but not forsaken; struck down, but not destroyed; 10 always carrying in the body the death of Jesus, so that the life of Jesus may also be manifested in our bodies. 2 Corinthians 4:7-10

His… Michelle
Philippians1:20

Linking up with 3DLessons4Life, The Weekend Brew.

11 thoughts on “battle wounds

  1. “It seems to me, Jesus has given us permission to share our own wounds, scars with everyone we meet, to shout out to a hurting world, “look! I have these issues, but I’m still standing! I am still being healed! Jesus sees me! He sees you! He knows!” – permission to share our wounds – we do need to share them – to help others hurting, to show them how Jesus heals those wounds, binds them up – and how he know our pain, too. So love your heart – and how you share what He’s done through it!

Comments are closed.