the heart of the matter

The heart of the matter comes down to this one true thing — forgiveness.

I am forgiven for all the crazy, mixed up, bad stuff I’ve done. How?

Jesus.

He paid it all. Took my place. Paid the fine I could never ever pay.

When you read my story, where I’ve come from, what I’ve lived through, it may be more than a little uncomfortable to hear.

For me, the road to redemption was a long and winding road. Why? I’m that stubborn. The bible calls the stubborn thick necked. *raises hand in the air* Guilty as charged!

But the good news is God showed up when I finally couldn’t take it anymore. He knew when I would be ready to finally see Him. Really SEE Him.

And. He did it all. Opened my eyes. Made me see. His love allowed me to fall on my face in repentance.

He changed my name from victim to survivor!

As you read through my story, and I really pray you do, don’t be sad for the girl I was, rejoice for the girl the Lord has made me today! I got a do over!

You can have a do over too! Just call on the name of Jesus and be saved!

For “everyone who calls on the name of the Lord will be saved.” Romans 10:13

His… Michelle
Philippians1:20

Linking with the writers for Salt+Light, Monday Musings, and Unforced Rhythyms.

9 thoughts on “the heart of the matter

  1. Your story is indeed a story of redemption. And the forgiveness that rescues us is worth celebrating! God is a God of second chances – even if we need that second chance many times over! Forgiven for everything – past, present, and future. Will we ever be able to fully comprehend this gift of grace?!

    GOD BLESS!

  2. I am redeemed.
    You’ve set me free.
    So I’ll shake off these heavy chains.
    Wipe away every stain.
    Now, I’m not who I used to be.
    I am redeemed.
    (I Am Redeemed by Big Daddy Weave)

    These lyrics were playing through my head as I read your words here, Michelle. I have been following your story and I knew this part would come. It was a hard wait! But ONLY Jesus can wipe away our stains and sins and dust us off and set us on His path. I am right there with you sister. 37 years of running from Him. Not one time did He give up on me. Thank you, Jesus.

  3. Rejoicing for the girl the Lord has made you today. I think that’s the only way to tell stories – not to invite people to beat up on the people who hurt us but to rejoice how He saved us! I’ve been reading your story – but haven’t been at a place to comment. I can read on my iphone but typing a comment takes me forever. Praying that your story bring encouragement and hope to women who need to know they are not alone – and that God wants to help them!
    ~Maryleigh

Comments are closed.