five minute friday_whisper

1 Kings 19
11 The Lord said, “Go out and stand on the mountain in the presence of the Lord, for the Lord is about to pass by.”

Then a great and powerful wind tore the mountains apart and shattered the rocks before the Lord, but the Lord was not in the wind. After the wind there was an earthquake, but the Lord was not in the earthquake. 12 After the earthquake came a fire, but the Lord was not in the fire. And after the fire came a gentle whisper. 13 When Elijah heard it, he pulled his cloak over his face and went out and stood at the mouth of the cave.

Come close. Lean into what I’m about to say. Sometimes a whisper speaks louder than the loudest shout, the loudest cacophony of noise.

Sometimes it’s necessary to whisper. The story is too hard, too painful to tell.

Traumatic things elicit a whisper. Whispering means that the person that you’re talking to has to lean in closely to you to hear what you have to say. To really hear what you have to say.

Because sometimes the thing that you have to say is so awful it can only be said in a whisper.

Blogging is a way for me to communicate the hard things, the things I can’t say out loud, the things that if I chose to say them out loud, I would say them in a whisper.

I’m grateful for the people who read my blog, hear my whispers, hold them in their hearts, sharing some of my burden with me.

His… Michelle
Philippians1:20

It’s Friday! That means it’s time to write your heart out for 5 minutes. Fast and furious. Then share what you’ve written with the rest of us @FiveMinuteFriday! See you there!

IMG_1797.JPG

15 thoughts on “five minute friday_whisper

  1. Love this: “Because sometimes the thing that you have to say is so awful it can only be said in a whisper.”

    So, so true.
    Glad to link up via FMF today!

  2. Hi Michelle! Just left Joanne at Days and Thoughts. She referenced the same scripture and I remarked that I hadn’t remembered it at the prompt. I love how God is reinforcing this message for me by having me visit you. Thank you for your whispers. I hear them loud and clear. Have a great weekend.

  3. I so relate with what you expressed here. {Introverts unite!}
    I had forgotten about that powerful portion of scripture.
    So glad you write brave those whispers.
    Cheers,
    Leah

  4. “Because sometimes the thing that you have to say is so awful it can only be said in a whisper.”
    So completely resonates with me. Thank you for this post and your honesty. Here’s to hoping the whispers are beautiful!
    Blessings,
    Andrea

Comments are closed.