I will not drown

When I gave my heart to Jesus 9 years ago, I couldn’t wait to dive head first into the Bible.

For some odd reason πŸ˜‰ I didn’t choose to start at the beginning.

Before I believed god existed, I had tried to read the bible from the beginning on many different occasions with smashing failures. I’d get only a few chapters into Genesis and quickly lose interest. Or I’d read a bit of Revelation and become terrified.

So which book did I choose first?

Job.

I know, right?

But you know what? God knew exactly what He was doing. He’s clever like that.

After spending 26 years shaking my fist at Him, 26 years cursing Him, 26 years trying to figure out if He was even real, it was absolutely, unequivocally, imperative I read Job.

Have you read it? If you have, you know what I’m going to say next.

I got to the end of that book. I was thoroughly humbled, on my face crying, thanking God for saving a wretch like me.

Like Job, I had only ever heard about God. Like Job, I finally got to see Him face to face.

This last year has been a tough one. I’ve been transitioning back into USA normal, depressed for months, holed up, anxious, dealing with the past I didn’t think I’d ever need to deal with again.

But I want you to know, I know my Redeemer lives. I have hope. I will not drown because my God is with me. My clay jar is being re-filled as we speak. Do you see the Light pouring out through the cracks? I hope so. Because He is good.

Isaiah 43:2
When you pass through the waters, I will be with you;
and through the rivers, they shall not overwhelm you;
when you walk through fire you shall not be burned,
and the flame shall not consume you.

His… Michelle
Philippians1:20

Linking with Jennifer Dukes Lee 4 #TellHisStory.

2 thoughts on “I will not drown

  1. I just have to comment on your bio at the top right. Girl, you have a heart like mine. God has placed in me a desire to minister to those faces He puts in front of me. For some people it’s easier to go across the world instead of across the street. But I can’t get enough of it right where I am. So glad I found you on Jennifer Lee’s link up! (@brokenmadebeautiful on instagram)

Comments are closed.