that’ll do

So the story goes like this

There was a guy caught in his house during a flood. As the waters rose, he climbed onto his roof. He cried out to the Lord to rescue him.

Pretty soon a man came along in a rowboat. Jump in! I’ll rescue you! No. No. I’m waiting for the Lord to rescue me.

The waters continued to rise. The guy climbed up to the roof peak. He cried out to the Lord to rescue him.

Pretty soon a man in a speedboat came along. Jump in! I’ll rescue you! No. No. I’m waiting for the Lord to rescue me.

The waters continued to rise. The guy climbed up to the top of the chimney. He cried out to the Lord to rescue him.

Pretty soon a man in a helicopter came along. He lowered a ladder to the guy. Climb the ladder! I’ll rescue you! No. No. I’m waiting for the Lord to rescue me.

The waters continued to rise. The guy was swept away in the floodwaters and drowned.

When he arrived in heaven and stood before the Lord he asked, Lord! I cried out to you over and over for you to rescue me! Why did you leave me stranded!?

The Lord replied, Oh foolish son of mine, I sent you two boats and a helicopter. What more could you want?

I think I might be this guy, missing the rescue, not seeing the forest for the trees or the trees for the forest. Whatever. The point is I do not want to be this guy. The words of Arthur H Hoggett to Babe ring in my ears, That’ll do pig, that’ll do.

His… Michelle
Philippians1:20

