five minute friday_bloom

20130301-174203.jpg
Write for five minutes. Don’t think too hard. Just write. Then share over @thegypsymama. There’s only one rule. Visit the link before yours and leave an encouraging comment.

This week the word is bloom

GO

Sometimes I’d like to be a flower, no worries, no cares. Does my stem make me look too fat? Do these thorns make me seem too prickly? Are my petals too yellow? Am I fragrant or not? Nope. Flowers just bloom.

But I’m not a flower. I think too much, perform too much, worry too much, when all I want to do is be, to bloom like the beautiful flower I was created to be.

Matthew 6
28 And why are you anxious about clothing? Consider the lilies of the field, how they grow: they neither toil nor spin, 29 yet I tell you, even Solomon in all his glory was not arrayed like one of these.

STOP

His… Michelle
Philippians 1:20

14 thoughts on “five minute friday_bloom

  1. Michelle,
    Your words remind me of something David Benner wrote in his book, The Gift of Being Yourself….and how as we draw closer to God, we get to know ourselves and God better and that is when we bloom…when we become who God created us to be 🙂 Blessings to you 🙂

  2. Ha! This is so creative and true. And this line made me laugh out loud: “Does my stem make me look too fat? ” But we halt our blooming when we are distracted by such things…I’m so glad I stopped by here. Thanks for sharing your gift at FMF.

  3. Michelle, This is my favorite post of the day! I find I am less likely to fuss and worry these days – but I still don’t BLOOM like I should. Like I was meant to. I am going to try and bloom just like my flowers today – not worrying about anything but being. Thanks!

  4. Micey, YES! How wonderful would it be to just bloom so proudly and beautifully as the lilies of the field with all of our confidence in God’s protection and love? I want the same thing. That’s my prayer for all of us, that we would bloom in God’s love and protection. Let’s grab onto it… I could really stand to give worry the boot and find out what it is to bloom, honestly.

  5. I, too, just want to rest in the hand of God who has said that nothing can pluck me from it. When I get really tired, it’s time to think of this blessing. Beautiful, heartfelt post. Thank you for sharing your thoughts.

  6. Oh, I like this. Just doing what we are supposed to do. Why is it so hard, right? But remember, the most beautiful creatures on this earth are not the flowers, as much as we like them and take pictures of them, but God’s son and daughters made over in the image of Christ. It’s just that the process is usually ugly!
    Cheers,
    Leah

Comments are closed.