five minute friday_release

20130301-174203.jpg
Write for five minutes. Don’t think too hard. Just write. Then share over @thegypsymama. There’s only one rule. Visit the link before yours and leave an encouraging comment.

The word this week is release.

GO

My mind goes round and round on this self made treadmill, hamster wheel of endless thoughts on who I am, why I am this way, why I just can’t seem to be like everyone else.

Sadness overtakes me when least expected. Why? Where does it come from? It hits me out of the clear blue sky for no apparent reason other than I have a weird brain that has a mind all it’s own.

How did I end up living in the age of the cult of personality when it seems like the only good people are the popular people and so I strive and strive to be like them when all I want to be is myself?

Oh that I could surrender all these swirling thoughts and silly desires to the Lord once and for all, to feel the sweet release of freedom He is calling me into, never to waver or be tossed about on the opinions of this world ever again.

STOP

His… Michelle
Philippians1:20

20140620-100207-36127505.jpg

10 thoughts on “five minute friday_release

  1. Thank you for this raw and real glimpse into your internal battle. Isn’t it amazing that God can accept our struggles, hear our cries, and still love as perfectly, unconditionally? Your desire to surrender to God is beautiful. Praying a simple prayer for you that He will lead your heart to that place of sweet release. Blessings from your FMF friend.

  2. Michelle,
    Oh, I resonate with your words….and I’m learning I must tell myself over and over the truth of who I am in Christ…to turn my thoughts to Him and to ask/beg Him for the grace to do so…we were on a similar track today…I wrote a similar post earlier this week about hearing God’s message of love…blessings to you…God sees you with delight (Zeph. 3:17).

  3. “Sadness overtakes me when least expected. Why? Where does it come from? It hits me out of the clear blue sky for no apparent reason other than I have a weird brain that has a mind all it’s own.” This is my world. Why especially when I know have a Savior? And a Father who loves me. Who created me. Perhaps, that’s just part of our journey that will be used to His glory. Let it be so. I do know that as I looked through the over 200 people that had posted – I saw your picture and had a vague memory that your posts had challenged and encouraged me before. So I read. And I’m glad I did. Praying for us both.

Comments are closed.