Controlling myself

1 Peter 5:8
Control yourselves and be careful! The devil, your enemy, goes around like a roaring lion looking for someone to eat.

There is an arch enemy for the Christian. I picture him, a boogieman, sitting in a dark corner, in shadows, in the inky blackness of a closet. He’s hunched down, watching, waiting, observing, biding time to catch a glimpse of that thing that trips me up. Like a dog or lion that can sense your fear and pounces.

When I walk down the street in an unfamiliar neighborhood, my guard is up, my eyes are scanning all around me for any approaching danger. In the same way, I need to be on the lookout for the enemy of my soul, vigilant, guarding my heart and mind. I need to learn to control myself. The enemy is not a mind reader. He is a cunning observer. Every word that slips out of my mouth is ammunition he can use against me, whether those words are directed at others or myself.

My dear sweet Lord, teach me how to guard my heart and mind from the enemy’s tricks, schemes, and plots. Give me understanding to know the difference between your voice and his. Help me to discard the lies he plants in my brain. Help me stop vocalizing the negative things I believe about myself by changing my mind, capturing my thoughts, and bringing them into subjection to Christ. The battlefield of my mind is the toughest one I face each day. Please go before me and fight! Thank you for your unfailing love and mercy and truth. Lord I want to believe! Help my unbelief! Amen.

His… Michelle
Philippians1:20

Linking with Kelli 4 Unforced Rhythms and the folks @Salt and Light.

20140616-095254-35574456.jpg

6 thoughts on “Controlling myself

  1. Micey, yes… The battle field of the mind is our greatest battle, right? I just read Chip Ingram’s The Invisible War about spiritual battle and standing firm and it changed my life. Hands down. I needed that message so badly! Hope you’re well this week!

  2. I love your prayers, Michelle. They’re spot on. The mind is a wild one, that is for sure, and I know I struggle with walking in the truths that seem so mysterious and hard to wrap (my mind – go figure!) around, such as having been given the mind of Christ. How in the world do we live into that one? I don’t have the answer. But your prayer and the truths it grasps onto and accesses? This must be where to return to, again and again. Grateful for your presence at Unforced Rhythms.

Comments are closed.