He is my joy

Nehemiah 8:10
Then he said to them, “Go your way. Eat the fat and drink sweet wine and send portions to anyone who has nothing ready, for this day is holy to our Lord. And do not be grieved, for the joy of the Lord is your strength.” (ESV)

The verses around this particular verse show the people of Israel crying with regret because Ezra read and explained the book of the Law that had been shoved aside for years. The people now understood how their fathers had blown it. They were filled with regret. But Ezra declares they should be filled with joy because now they got it! They finally got the second chance they were looking for because God showed up in this book! Instead of mourning and lamenting, the time for celebration had finally arrived!

I find it a little too easy to look back on my mistakes and get stuck there, wallowing in self pity and regret for the way I should have done things. But God showed up in November 2005! He came for me, revealed himself to me, had finally arrived, and declared the time for regret was over! I was finally getting a second chance, a do over, a chance to change!

Oh my sweet Lord! Thank you for showing up! Thank you for coming to my rescue! Thank you for filling me with joy, for giving me strength to carry on. Your salvation is like water in a desert for this dried up soul who was dead! How great is your name! I will never be able to say thank you enough! I will never be able to praise you enough! Jesus! My rock. My salvation! My joy!!! Amen.

His… Michelle
Philippians1:20

Linking up with the ladies @(in)courage.

20140606-072241-26561884.jpg

2 thoughts on “He is my joy

  1. Oh, Michelle! Your beautiful words left me praising God for His work in you. Thanks for sharing your heart and your gift of writing here. This resonated with me: “I find it a little too easy to look back on my mistakes and get stuck there, “. So true for all of us. Thank God that he never leaves us stuck…

Comments are closed.