He encourages me

We live in such a mean world. Just turn the news on to see and hear about all the bad things happening around the world. There seems to be an epidemic of meanness, cruelty, hatred, and murder.

I read a guy’s blog post about how discouraged he feels by the time he walks out the door of his house each morning. It’s now wonder. He fuels himself on the world news.

I made this comment to him –

This is how I start my day – I get up, make coffee, check my email, check Facebook, read the Bible, read Beth Moore, read CS Lewis, head out for my daily bike ride while listening to praise and worship music, come home, make more coffee, blog. By the time I head out for work, I am fueled with beautiful, true, lovely things. I am encouraged to have a great day.

Everyday, I learn more and more how important it is to fill my mind with right, true, lovely things, to stomp out the complaining, to build others up, to infect people with joy.

There really is power in encouragement. It makes the light in me shine brighter.

As Paul wrote to the Philippians in chapter 2:

2 So if there is any encouragement in Christ, any comfort from love, any participation in the Spirit, any affection and sympathy, 2 complete my joy by being of the same mind, having the same love, being in full accord and of one mind. 3 Do nothing from selfish ambition or conceit, but in humility count others more significant than yourselves.

I pray you are encouraged today and always! Happy Friday people!

His… Michelle
Philippians1:20

Linking with the ladies over @(in)courage.

20140523-091451-33291067.jpg

2 thoughts on “He encourages me

  1. You are so right, Micey! It’s important to fill up on the good stuff before we head out to meet our day. It makes such a difference.

    I love that passage from Philippians 2. Thanks for pointing me toward it this morning.

    That picture of the swinging bench is inviting me in. I could hang out there.

    🙂

Comments are closed.