He is truth

He is more true than anyone or anything. He is more true than any argument or lofty opinion. He is more true than science because the truth of science is found in Him.

Truth isn’t about being right or wrong. Truth isn’t relative. What’s true for you is also true for me. If your truth is different than mine, you are lost.

All the mathematical formulas, theorems, calculations are true because God is true and He invented math.

Everything that proceeds from the mouth of God is true, even if you don’t understand it.

The American dream is a man made dream founded on the truth of God’s word. It is a beautiful dream that carries some truth, but it’s not the whole truth because we’ve managed to separate the dream from the ultimate truth giver.

Before Jesus, I was alive. After Jesus, I am truly alive. In Him I live and move and have my being. Now I am free to be who He truly made me to be.

The more we get what we now call ‘ourselves’ out of the way and let Him take us over, the more truly ourselves we become. There is so much of Him that millions and millions of ‘little Christs’, all different, will still be too few to express Him fully. He made them all. He invented β€” as an author invents characters in a novel β€” all the different men that you and I were intended to be. In that sense our real selves are all waiting for us in Him. It is no good to try to ‘be myself’ without Him. The more I resist Him and try to live on my own, the more I become dominated by my own heredity and upbringing and surroundings and natural desires. In fact what I so proudly call ‘myself’ becomes merely the meeting place for trains of events which I never started and which I cannot stop. What I call ‘my wishes’ become merely the desires thrown up by my physical organism or pumped into me by other men’s thoughts or even suggested to me by devils. Eggs and alcohol and a good night’s sleep will be the real origins of what I flatter myself by regarding as my own highly personal and discriminating decision to make love to the girl opposite to me in the railway carriage. Propaganda will be the real origin of what I regard as my own personal political ideas. I am not, in my natural state, nearly so much of a person as I like to believe: most of what I call ‘me’ can be very easily explained. It is when I turn to Christ, when I give myself up to His Personality, that I first begin to have a real personality of my own.

Taken from Mere Christianity by CS Lewis

My life, my faith become more true everyday. He is the Truth and He is setting me free. He will do the same for you. Seek Truth while it may be found.

His… Michelle
Philippians1:20

Linking with Kelli for unforced rhythms and Lyli @3DLessons4Life.

20140519-142518-51918281.jpg

10 thoughts on “He is truth

  1. Truth is such a vast subject, isn’t it? Thank you for these thoughts about the nature of truth … and (as always) I’m so glad you linked up with us at Unforced Rhythms.

  2. We cannot pick and choose biblical truth – can we?! – I am cheering you on here – it is such an opposite day idea – that when we let go of ourselves and grab on to Him, we become who He designed us to be. I couldn’t understand for the longest time why God would create “me” and then want “me” to be like “Him” – but it is only through Him that who we are really works.

    Your post goes straight to my heart. Beautiful encouragement – Beautiful flower – what is it?

  3. I love the quote by CS Lewis. Mere Christianity is a gem of a read. You hit the nail on the head, Michelle, we are alive before Christ and more alive after. I just have to say, you caught me with the math comment. You see, I teach my students all the time that the fact that science and math follow the instilled laws ( all listed in scripture) all either subject does is point to the creator. I love how the number 1.618 is considered the fingerprint of God. Fibonacci’s sequence is evident in that very flower you shared a photo of above. The way the petals are laid out and the arrangment of the leaves give a ratio of 1.618. It is pretty cool when we can see how nature and the physical lawas of the universe speak a truth that is undeniably God! πŸ™‚
    Blessings!
    Dawn

    • Oh wow! I definitely don’t know that much about math. I do recall hearing of Fibonacci, but have to do a little research on him and 1.618. Is that pi?

Comments are closed.