Slow and steady

As I was riding my bike this evening, praise music playing in my ears, I didn’t mind the strong wind blowing from the east so much. Suddenly, I realized how much I need this element in my cycling, in my life.

Gosh, if I could just have this music in my ears all day, it would help me keep my eyes on Jesus. And if I could just keep my eyes on Jesus, it wouldn’t matter nearly so much that the job called and woke me up not once, but twice for lack of organizational skills.

Oh, but for the love of Jesus, I cannot carry my anger like I used to. Many years ago, before i knew Jesus, I got so angry with the job I didn’t speak to anyone for three months. Yes. I said three months. I can’t even do that for three hours now.

If I could just keep my eyes on Jesus, I would have said no without guilt which is really what made me angry most. And if I could just keep my eyes on Jesus, the anger would have been gone by the time I got to work.

The last four days of riding have been really tough. The wind has been really strong, pushing me to the limits of personal endurance. Sometimes the wind is so strong it virtually stops me, like hitting a wall. At those moments, I typically yell seriously!?

Life is like the bike ride. Some days the challenges are small. Other days I’m yelling seriously!? It’s all about endurance, building strength. Of the physical. Of character. And I jumped in the wisdom game way later than some.

As much as the wind makes me want to give up the ride, I keep going. As much as my anger and pride kill me and make me want to give up and quit, I keep going.

As that great writer of Hebrews says

12 Therefore, since we are surrounded by so great a cloud of witnesses, let us also lay aside every weight, and sin which clings so closely, and let us run with endurance the race that is set before us, 2 looking to Jesus, the founder and perfecter of our faith, who for the joy that was set before him endured the cross, despising the shame, and is seated at the right hand of the throne of God.

3 Consider him who endured from sinners such hostility against himself, so that you may not grow weary or fainthearted. 4 In your struggle against sin you have not yet resisted to the point of shedding your blood. 5 And have you forgotten the exhortation that addresses you as sons?

“My son, do not regard lightly the discipline of the Lord,
nor be weary when reproved by him.
6 For the Lord disciplines the one he loves,
and chastises every son whom he receives.”

7 It is for discipline that you have to endure. God is treating you as sons. For what son is there whom his father does not discipline? 8 If you are left without discipline, in which all have participated, then you are illegitimate children and not sons. 9 Besides this, we have had earthly fathers who disciplined us and we respected them. Shall we not much more be subject to the Father of spirits and live? 10 For they disciplined us for a short time as it seemed best to them, but he disciplines us for our good, that we may share his holiness. 11 For the moment all discipline seems painful rather than pleasant, but later it yields the peaceful fruit of righteousness to those who have been trained by it.

12 Therefore lift your drooping hands and strengthen your weak knees, 13 and make straight paths for your feet, so that what is lame may not be put out of joint but rather be healed. 14 Strive for peace with everyone, and for the holiness without which no one will see the Lord. 15 See to it that no one fails to obtain the grace of God; that no “root of bitterness” springs up and causes trouble, and by it many become defiled

So the Lord speaks. And I keep on keeping on. One day at a time. New mercy.

His… Michelle
Philippians1:20

Linking with Jennifer Dukes Lee @tellhisstory.

20140513-200825.jpg

2 thoughts on “Slow and steady

  1. Dear Micey
    Oh, what a terrible way to live when we cannot let go of our anger and frustrations towards others. But like you have found, it is only as we keep our eyes on Jesus and not our own performance that He starts to live and forgive others in and through us!! Keep on cycling, dear friend.
    Mia

Comments are closed.