That time the kraken got out

Confession time. My inner kraken escaped yesterday. You know the mythological sea monster? That one.

I got to the end of my day. Did my time. And an emergency occurred. My job needed me to stay and work over my regular schedule. The nerve!

My inner monster is anything but pretty. It’s pretty scary actually. It rises quickly and out of the clear blue sky. I don’t know when or where or why? I don’t know the exact recipe for the monster to show up?

I think the inner monster rears her hideous head when life is all about me. My day. My time. My schedule. My. My. My. There is growling, roaring, crying, swearing, and self righteous indignation involved. This is when I drop the f bomb like dropping bits of popcorn.

It’s shameful. Thankfully, I managed to keep my rant mostly to myself. But oh man. And as if that wasn’t bad enough, I used my anger as an excuse to call out sick today which, in a roundabout way, did make me sick for most of the morning.

I’m making this confession because I need to be accountable. Life is hard. I don’t want to hide from my sin. I don’t want to be a poser. I need people to pray for me as much as I need to pray for people. I need to die to myself. I need to put others before me.

I’m so thankful for a new day. Thankful to be alive. Thankful for a holy do over. I’m praying for mercy from God. It is against Him I have sinned. I’m praying the co-workers who saw the monster will forgive me. I will ask them to forgive me. It is the right thing to do.

Finally, I’m praying for that inner monster to die already! Die and stay dead forever! Please pray with me in Jesus’ name.

His… Michelle
Philippians1:20

Linking with Lyli @3dlessons4life.

20140508-211011.jpg

11 thoughts on “That time the kraken got out

  1. Never heard of the Kraken, but I know exactly what you’re talking about. In the old days, how often would ye old Kraken show up in your life, compared to now? Bless you for desiring truth in your inner man. DM

    • Thankfully, the kraken is dying. It’s just a slow and painful death. He doesn’t show up nearly as frequently as 9 years ago. 😊

  2. The question is if you were sick that morning.

    There are monsters in the water. The two greatest, the whale and the shark, both have fins, but they do not have shells. When we exercise them, we are out of control since we are not suited. The question is if we should get rid of them. I believe we should not have that focus. I believe we should focus upon the re-birth in Christ, and trust everything is new in the nature of the re-born. I love my whale.

  3. The kraken reminds us of our constant need of grace. And the demands of nursing can tests every ounce of everything you’ve got. Rest on the grace of your Savior. As to your co-workers, if the conversation arises you can tell them about that grace. And I think it entirely appropriate you took a sick day. Sickness is not only physical, but emotional, even spiritual. Wise move on your part. “Let he who is without sin cast the first stone.”

  4. Pingback: Grateful. Again | FOUND

  5. Micey, I had an inner Kraken that reared its head SO often in the past. I would be so ashamed, but God never left me and He always helped me through it. I know what you mean about it rearing its head when you’re thinking about yourself, but in my case it also rears its head if I’m not thinking about myself enough. Especially if I’m being overworked and not taking care of myself physically, emotionally, and spiritually. I’m learning to love myself so I can love others better, and that’s something I never understood before.

    • Oh Kim. That’s something to think about. Not taking care of myself enough. I’ve been known to let this happen. Thanks for the encouragement!

Comments are closed.