God’s sovereign choice

We’re studying the book of Romans in church. This week we were in chapter 9:19-29. I just want to share some great take aways.

The study of theology requires a radical commitment to mystery. JD Philips

We are far worse than we think we are. God only saves bad people. Bad people are all there are. God only saves losers. Christianity is a religion for losers.

Without God’s descent there can be no human ascent. Oz Guiness

The focus and foundation of the Christian faith is not me living for God. It is that God lived for me!

Our default is that Christianity is about us. We graduate from the cross to a ladder. We anchor our identity in our actions. But we should anchor our identity in what God has done for us

We are deeply loved by Jesus and have done nothing to deserve it. This is the purpose of these verses. 9:19-29

So if God has already decided who belongs to Him, what’s the purpose of praying, evangelizing?

2 Thessalonians 2:13
13 But we ought always to give thanks to God for you, brothers beloved by the Lord, because God chose you as the firstfruits to be saved, through sanctification by the Spirit and belief in the truth.

Did I choose God so he chose me? Or did God choose me so I chose him?

God has determined to be the one who saves. But he also determined to use us to do the telling, to do the praying. They are inseparable.

In Acts, the angel fetched Peter out of prison but prayer fetched the angel!

And what about people who don’t know God? Like family. This one was really troublesome to me when I was a brand new follower.

John 21:20 Peter turned and saw the disciple whom Jesus loved following them, the one who also had leaned back against him during the supper and had said, “Lord, who is it that is going to betray you?” 21 When Peter saw him, he said to Jesus, “Lord, what about this man?” 22 Jesus said to him, “If it is my will that he remain until I come, what is that to you? You follow me!”

God never promises to tell us everyone else’s story. He only promises to tell me mine. Trust him!

You can’t outrun the Hound of Heaven. He wins every time!

He wins every time. Every. Time! Amazing grace. Amen!

His… Michelle
Philippians1:20

2 thoughts on “God’s sovereign choice

  1. Great summation of Romans 9 and who God is and we in Him, and how that then meshes out and overflows in our lives. This morning I went back to Romans 8. I memorized the first 18 verses last year, it was such a pivotal point in my growing faith last year, and I needed to re-learn some things. Just today during out devotion time my oldest Isabelle said, “yeah mom, but we are all Christ’s children”. I had to correct her. In a flash I saw how very important it is for us to know who God is, who we are, before Christ, and who we are together, because of Christ, afterwards. All Christian living, theology, practice, hinges on this understanding in our mind, and then the faith of it in our hearts.
    Cheers,
    Leah

Comments are closed.