what a mess

20130301-174203.jpg
Write for five minutes. Don’t think too hard. Just write. Then share over @thegypsymama. There’s only one rule. Visit the link before yours and leave an encouraging comment.

The word this week is mess.

GO

Recently, the Daily Post suggested re blogging old content. It got me going back to the very beginning of my blog to see what was there.

This blog began before Jesus. Back when my life was meaningless, hopeless, a real mess.

Here’s a link to just one day in my life before Jesus. Be warned though. It is a bitter post filled with offensive language.

I’ve come a long way from those days. Most of the bitterness is gone. But every now and then I still mess it up.

But God is good. He has been so faithful to transform me from the days of before Christ.

As I went through my blog from those transforming moments, I can see with my own eyes how far the Lord has brought me.

It’s good to remember the days of old. It’s encouraging. I’m getting less messy.

STOP

His… Michelle
Philippians1:20

12 thoughts on “what a mess

  1. I love how Jesus has taken your mess and made something beautiful! Btw, I went back and read your blog post pre-Jesus. You’ve come a long way and you can thank Him for that transformation. Loved reading this as I followed you on FMF.

    • Thank you Debbie. And I do thank God and praise him everyday for transforming my life! He has blessed me with every blessing. It really is amazing grace!

  2. I hadn’t realized you started blogging before you became a believer. I will have to check that out later. I did read your whole testimony/ story back in the day…think I remember watching/ listening to some audio of you talking too? I was struck by the 180% that happened in your life (and yes, I know there have been some stumbles along the way, but that is part of the process) 😉 DM

    • When I was looking at my blog before Christ, I was struck with the absolute meaninglessness and hopelessness that enveloped me then. Even the first six months of my new life are telling in that you can see the slow, patient work of the Lord to change me. It’s like the world in which the dead live in CS Lewis’s Great Divorce, bland, dull, lifeless, colorless.

  3. Isn’t His grace amazing? He makes all things new and His love is relentless. I’m so thankful He can make beauty out of our messes, even when most of the messes we have are because of our own decisions. Thank you for being candid.

  4. Wow! I had no idea who have been a blog writer for so long. You know what that means don’t you? You were a blogger before blogging was cool! Seriously, what a gift you have in your possession to have a vivid written account of Christ-transformation. I think that is the word: transformation, not perfection, that we need to focus and give thanks to God for.
    Cheers,
    Leah

    • Oh Leah. I was blogging before blogging was even a word. I was blogging for about 4 years before wordpress. I just lost those files. My big kid told me today I’m a blogging hipster. I take that as a compliment. Haha!

      And yes, God’s transformation of my life is astounding to me. I’m so so grateful. 😊

Comments are closed.