one Friday in April

I had a filet o fish sandwich from McDonalds. I forgot it was Lent. my coworker said as I sat across from her in the locker room eating sunflower seeds.

You know that whole “don’t eat meat on Fridays is a man made tradition? If you believe Jesus died on the cross for your sins, you have been set free and can eat whatever you want whenever you want.

So why did they make that a rule? she asked.

It’s how they wanted to honor Christ’s death. He was our Passover lamb.

She looked down at the floor, thinking. I believe in God or a higher power. I grew up in the Catholic Church.

The beautiful thing about Jesus is you just have to believe in Him to be saved. There’s nothing else you have to do to get to heaven. This is why He’s such a stumbling block. People want an easy checklist of things to do to go to heaven. We want it to be about what we can do. But there is nothing we can do. It is only by Jesus. And this makes us angry because it means ANYONE who believes gets to go to heaven no matter how good or bad we think they are.

She sat looking off into space for another moment, then she excused herself so she could go have lunch.

Later

I knew when I saw the 3:16 on your neck I was in good hands. That’s what the lady said to me yesterday afternoon as I was taking her into surgery because she had a miscarriage.

Before I picked her up, I noted she was 44. I thought, How crazy is it to be trying to have a baby at her age?

Well, it doesn’t matter what I think is crazy does it? The heart wants what the heart wants.

When I introduced myself, she immediately asked about my number tattoos. She knew 3:16. But she didn’t know 6:16 and asked me to say the verse out loud.

Jeremiah 6:16
Thus says the Lord:
“Stand by the roads, and look,
and ask for the ancient paths,
where the good way is; and walk in it,
and find rest for your souls.
[emphasis mine]
But they said, ‘We will not walk in it.’

When I looked at her, she was crying.

Do you have any children? I asked.

No. We tried in 2012 and miscarried after 4 weeks. And now this time was 7 weeks. I will pray about trying again, but I will accept His will for my life. My husband really wants a child of his own. But we are willing to adopt as well.

I think adopting is an awesome idea. That baby will be so lucky to have you. But I also know nothing is impossible for God. He can give you and your husband a child of your own as well. I said.

I so love days like this. Days when I get to truly comfort patients in their deepest despair. When I get to remind them how much God is for them, loves them. When I am equally encouraged by their testimonies, their love for God. When I get to share the Gospel as clearly and imperfectly as I can, encourage a coworker to think about things she never thought about before.

It’s like the curtain that heaven lives behind was opened and the Kingdom of God merged with earth just for a little while and things felt right and good and beautiful.

I want more days like this.

His… Michelle
Philippians1:20

20140426-123725.jpg

8 thoughts on “one Friday in April

  1. I enjoyed reading your post today…this is how we can be the hands and feet of Jesus here…loving and supporting those in our circle of influence. Glad you were there for her.

Comments are closed.