I follow Jesus

image

The main thing I’m going to do is keep the main thing the main thing. This is my biggest challenge.

I’m no spring chicken. I’ve been around the block a few times. I know what lies in the hearts of men. We’re all capable of good AND evil. This cynical way of thinking is, in my opinion, a blessing and a curse. It’s a blessing because it allows me to protect my heart from being broken by very fallible human beings. It’s a curse because it makes me stand far back from people, looking for the flaw instead of the good.

But Jesus, the perfect, sinless, God Man doesn’t think the way I do. I am so grateful for this truth. If He thought the way I thought, I would be dead in my sin. I would be hopelessly lost. His crucifixion means I am set free from this prison of cynicism. The doors of my prison cell have been thrown open. And little by little, I am walking toward the exit.

It means I can be quick to forgive others when they blow it and let me down because now I realize how much I blow it and let others down too.

The pastor at my church resigned over the weekend for a “moral failure”. That’s how the other pastors chose to describe it. I don’t need to know the details. I have nothing but respect for my pastor confessing, stepping down, facing the consequences of his actions. How many people do you know who would do the same? And I trust God. He will deal with my pastor in the most fair, righteous, loving, merciful manner we as human beings are incapable of dealing.

I pray for all involved to be comforted, forgiven, reunited, and reconciled. I pray they come through this dark valley stronger, set free, and healed.

Mostly I pray the body of Christ remembers to keep the main thing the main thing. Jesus. King of kings. Lord of lords. Wonderful Counselor. Mighty God. No. Other. Name! I have decided to follow Jesus! No turning back!

His… Michelle
Philippians1:20

