willing to ride

20130301-174203.jpg
Write for five minutes. Don’t think too hard. Just write. Then share over @thegypsymama. There’s only one rule. Visit the link before yours and leave an encouraging comment.

The word this week is willing.

GO

So I have this crazy idea the Lord has put in my heart.

As some of you may know, upon returning to the states, I suddenly had an urge to become physically fit. I haven’t really ever cared about my own fitness before, except for brief times after childbirth and once during a college project for nutrition class when I thought I was fat.

So I bought myself a bicycle and started riding. I also started watching my diet. Twenty-five pounds down and a hundred miles a week later, the idea was born.

Why ride for just the sake of riding? Why not ride for a cause? Why not ride to promote awareness and raise money for Mercy Ships!? Wouldn’t it be amazing to raise enough money to pay for all the surgeries on the ship for a whole outreach!?

So I’m proposing to ride my bicycle to Key West Florida in October or November as an event. It’s about 200 miles one way. I’m still contemplating one way or round trip. I’m leaning toward round trip at this point because there should be plenty of time to train, even with rainy season approaching. I plan to divide the miles so that the trip will last 4-10 days. I’m also hoping and praying I can get other folks to participate by riding with me or promoting or driving a sag wagon.

Crazy, right? I’ve never undertaken anything like this before, but judging by the other bike riding events for causes, know it can be done. And knowing the God we serve nothing is impossible for Him!

Michelle and Mercy Ships ride again! I’m super excited! I’m willing!

STOP

His… Michelle Anderson
Philippians 1:20

20140307-151848.jpg

8 thoughts on “willing to ride

  1. Hi Michelle,
    It took a little detective work, but I found your blog…Thanks for visiting mine…and I’m excited for you and your ride for Mercy Ships…may God continue to guide and bless you as your prepare and that you find like minded people to partner with you 🙂

Comments are closed.