choosing forgiveness again and again

In light of how I’ve been feeling the last few days, I realize I said I had forgiven people for how I felt I was treated. But did I forgive them? If I still look back and dwell on the way I think I was treated wrongly, am I not holding a grudge? Does God hold a grudge?

Psalm 103
8 The Lord is merciful and gracious,
slow to anger and abounding in steadfast love.
9 He will not always chide,
nor will he keep his anger forever.
10 He does not deal with us according to our sins,
nor repay us according to our iniquities.
11 For as high as the heavens are above the earth,
so great is his steadfast love toward those who fear him;
12 as far as the east is from the west,
so far does he remove our transgressions from us.
13 As a father shows compassion to his children,
so the Lord shows compassion to those who fear him.
14 For he knows our frame;
he remembers that we are dust.

The assumption that life shouldn’t be so hard leads to self-pity and endless finger pointing. We see life as unfair and ourselves as victims, and focus on the offenses others have done against us. We fail to realize these offenses pale in comparison to our own offenses against God, who not only forgives us, but requires and enables us to forgive others and move forward free from the past.

Forgiveness is a matter of choice, not feelings. Yes, we may remember the facts, but we must not allow ourselves to dwell on them. It is possible to “forgive and forget” if we truly do forgive. But we will never forget what we choose to brood over, demonstrating that we haven’t truly forgiven. Randy Alcorn

It takes two to reconcile, so it is not always possible to be reconciled. But it takes only one to forgive. So if people do you wrong, forgive them, whether or not they ask for forgiveness. You cannot cancel their sin. Only God can do that, and He will only do it if they repent. But what you can do is set aside your own anger, bitterness, and resentment toward them. Philip Graham Ryken

There you have it. Wise words from men and, more importantly, God. I needed this reminder. I need to be reminded over and over. I will forgive because I need to be forgiven too. Everyday.

Something to think about.

His… Michelle
Philippians1:20

Linking up with Lyli @3dLessons4Life.

20140206-092212.jpg

8 thoughts on “choosing forgiveness again and again

  1. Thanks Micey for this great reminder that I desperately needed to hear today. You are right, forgiveness isn’t a one-time thing, it has to happen every day. I am happy that I am finally getting past my you-did-this-to-me attitude (you know towards who) and am enjoying the freedom that it brings. ❤ you…

  2. Thank you for sharing this, friend! God has been speaking to me loud and clear on this topic and this morning, He chose you to be that vessel. Obviously, something I need to be reminded about again and again 🙂

  3. Michelle, I found your post on ‘Thought Provoking Thursday’s link up. Your words ring true, especially these from Psalm 103,
    “8 The Lord is merciful and gracious,
    slow to anger and abounding in steadfast love.
    9 He will not always chide,
    nor will he keep his anger forever.”
    What rejoicing that brings!

    Keep on sharing.

  4. Brood is a good word choice here – it shows a symptom of unforgiveness. I’ve found that forgiveness is like weedy vines in a garden. If we are not vigilant in maintaining that garden, that vine will try to creep backin! Good words here Micey – straight talk – which is so needed in this area!

Comments are closed.