five minute friday: fight

20130301-174203.jpg
Write for five minutes. Don’t think too hard. Just write. Then share over @thegypsymama. There’s only one rule. Visit the link before yours and leave an encouraging comment.

The word this week is fight.

GO

Last night, I was talking to a co-worker as we were setting up rooms for surgery. I was telling her stories of old, the days of starting out in the OR, when the job was so hard it was a fight to learn and be respected. I told her how I handled my life before Jesus, how I would fight with co-workers who thought they were better than me by virtue of experience, fight for respect, fight for equality, fight for sanity.

It wasn’t pretty, the old days. I cried everyday for the first five years I worked in the OR. I don’t know how I survived the fight except for the Lord must have really wanted me to be an OR nurse. What other explanation can there be? It doesn’t even matter that I was completely ignoring him then. God’s plans are God’s plans. He put the fight in me.

But now? I don’t have to fight anymore. All the little things that hurt my pride so long ago don’t matter. I go to work in peace. How? I know something now I didn’t know then.

Exodus 14:14
The Lord will fight for you, and you have only to be silent.

I met Jesus 8 years ago. I gave up the fight. I stood and watched The Lord fight. And respect, equality, and sanity came in the silence.

STOP

His… Michelle
Philippians1:20

11 thoughts on “five minute friday: fight

  1. Visiting from #FMF….thanks for sharing! Can’t imagine the stress of the OR. Thank you for all you do in saving lives! Great testimony to those you work with…fighting to get out of the way and let Him do the fighting for you! πŸ™‚ Good job!

  2. Michelle – I just love this! It is true in the medical field but also God is the one who truly fights for us. He told us to be still. I used this verse in mine FMF writing also! πŸ™‚

  3. Michelle – I love this verse, see it so seldom, yet it became a lifeline for me this past year when I simply had to release, release, release a dream that seemed to be dying on the vine.

    I let go of my demands. He fought. And His dream became mine.

    Thanks so much for reminding me that His ways are so far above mine … and He sees the big picture!

    Have a wonderful weekend …

Comments are closed.