what I brought home from Africa Mercy

I’ve been home from Africa for just about 2 months. I visited all my people. I settled into a new place by the beach. I’m in my second week of work. My heart is filled with peace, joy, and contentment. Finally.

This week, I started thinking about all the things I learned over the last year while serving with Mercy Ships. Here they are for you in a list in no particular order.

  • I LOVE people. All cultures. All religions. All colors. Rich. Poor. Male. Female.
  • Turns out I’m not as nomadic as I believed.
  • I need more stability than I thought. My flexibility had a breaking point.
  • I had to leave before everyone else because saying goodbye kills me a little every time. I see that now as I watch via Facebook as so many of my friends are now leaving the ship.
  • I really do need steady alone time to be happy.
  • I can only work and live in the same place for short periods of time.
  • I don’t mind talking to large groups of people. I just don’t want to meet them.
  • I’m better one on one or in very small groups.
  • I learned to be okay with people invading my space. So much so that when the little old lady volunteer grabbed my shirt yesterday to look down and see my tattoo I didn’t freak out. But don’t get any crazy ideas!
  • I really missed having my own place.
  • Sometimes you have to go really far away to realize how content you really were.
  • It doesn’t matter how rich you are, if you don’t have Jesus you are poor. I lost sight of that for awhile.
  • I really want to keep serving the people of the third world.
  • Its okay to take a year to just be.
  • Sticky Tack for hanging things on a wall is a must have.
  • As Christmas approaches, I keep reading the Christmas story in Matthew and Luke. When the angel visits Zechariah in the temple to tell him his wife will have a baby, he questions the angel, How do I know you’re telling me the truth? is basically the gist of the question. The angel responds, I am Gabriel and because you didn’t believe, you’ll be mute until your son is born. I wonder why he didn’t just write down what happened when people asked him? When Elizabeth delivered John, Zechariah wrote down his name is John when the people said there were no Johns in the family.

    These are the things I’m thinking about. How about you?

    His… Michelle
    Philippians1:20

    I’m linking up with my friend Lyli @ Thought Provoking Thursday. Be sure to go over and see what other folks are thinking about.

    6 thoughts on “what I brought home from Africa Mercy

    1. Micey, you have the same temperament as my hubby. He needs solo time and does better one on one. So glad that you are settled into your new place! Praying for God to continue to renew you daily.

      Thanks for linking up to Thought-Provoking Thursday! πŸ™‚

    2. Good to catch up with you again Micey. I am so glad that you are at peace. Big changes often reek havoc on our spiritual life. A change that involves leaving a ministry must of been very emotional. I hope you have wonderful peaceful Christmas and God keeps, keeping you on your toes!
      Cheers,
      Leah

    Comments are closed.