what are you thinking about?

This week I will start joining my friend Lyli at her new meme. I hope you’ll stop over there and see what other bloggers are thinking about too.

I met Lyli’s wonderful husband on a mission trip to Haiti all the way back in 2008. It was the first international mission trip I ever took. When Bruce met Lyli, I could not have been happier for him. He’s such a good guy. The most amazing thing about Lyli is she’s so supportive of her husband. She’s honest and real. She’s a great teacher and a woman after God’s own heart. I’m happy to call her my friend. 😊

So here’s what I’m thinking about.

I get a devotional email everyday from Ravi Zacharias ministries called A Slice of Infinity. This week, one of the writers mentioned the practice of Ignatius’ conscious examen. One prayerfully looks back through the day to find and see all the places God showed up. Now I’m not the greatest about praying. I have good days and not so good days. But since I came home from Africa, I’ve really wanted to be still with the Lord. I looked into this practice of the conscious examen and found some inspiration to really be still and see how God is near me all through the day, to praise him, to thank him, to feel his presence.

It makes me think of Eric Lidell, the Scottish runner turned missionary. He put of his missionary call to run in the Olympics back in the 20s. He said when he ran, he could feel the pleasure of God.

Today, I had such a great day. I did a robotic laparoscopic Nissan fundoplication, which is a fancy way of saying a hiatal hernia repair. I’m not an expert in high tech, but I was calm. The patient was a guy from the Philadelphia area. His partner was with him for support. We had such a great conversation about Pennsylvania as we were waiting to go in the OR. He told me he knew he would like me from the minute he saw my tattoos. He told me he was happy I was going to be his nurse. As I poured out love and compassion to this guy I felt it. The pleasure of God. Jesus was standing next to me. He was smiling.

Looking back on today through the conscious examen, I see how God was with me through every moment, leading me, giving me a peaceful heart and compassion for others I haven’t felt so strongly in a long time.

I think I’m going to be okay for awhile sitting at Jesus’ feet. I think I may be able to be Mary after all. God is astoundingly good. He is with me. Immanuel.

That’s what I’m thinking about.

His… Michelle
Philippians1:20

8 thoughts on “what are you thinking about?

  1. Hi Michelle,
    Glad you found the practice of The Examen helpful…when I remember to do it, I find it helps me to focus on God’s presence in a more conscious way…blessings to you 🙂

  2. Micey, you made my night! Thank you for your kind words. I am thankful for your friendship. 🙂

    I read Richard Foster’s book on prayer earlier this year, and it talked about “the prayer of examen,” but you defined this for me in a whole new way. I love the idea of looking back at my day and asking myself where God showed up. Love that idea!

    • Hi Lyli. I’m so glad! I’m really enjoying this way of praying. It doesn’t matter what kind of day you had, good, hard. In the moments that are hard or just what I define as bad, God is there. It’s so good to seek him.

  3. Dear Micey
    I have visited Ravi Zacharias’ website now for the first time. Looks so good and promising. Micey, I have read somewhere that there are often times periods that we don’t feel Jesus’ presence at all, but that is where we learn to worship Him not for what we get to feel that wonderful Presence of Jesus, but because we love Him and we want to bring Him joy regardless. That made so much sense to me, and through the years I have learned that it is there in the darkness with not a single ray of light, that we learn to truly believe and receive. You know, that kind of faith that believe without seeing! I am delighted that Lyli took over this link-up and I just cannot agree more! She is a lovely sister of our hearts; just a beautiful lady inside and out-.
    Blessings XX
    Mia

    • Hi Mia! I hope you’ll read some of the devotionals at RZIM. They’re so intelligent and good. I really love this time of year. They focus on the arrival of Jesus. So good.

Comments are closed.