unexpected hike: the lost dog/sheep parallel

I’m staying at my brother’s place this week. He lives in the country. Sort of. It’s quiet. It’s peaceful. Most days, everyone is gone all day. Accept today.

My SIL was home today. Her mom was hospitalized with an unknown GI issue. My SIL broke down. She’s a type A busy, burn the candle at 3 ends kind of person. I’m happy I’m here to offer emotional support. She bottles things up. Today, she shared all her fears. I rebutted them. Then I prayed for her, over her for peace. I prayed for her mom.

We were going to go out shopping, to stay busy, distracted, rather than waiting for the phone to ring with news about my SIL’s mom. But the Lord had a different plan.

20131112-140941.jpg
Meet Luna. She’s my brother’s 3 year old chocolate lab. She’s a good dog. Usually.

Taking Luna, My SIL went outside to replenish the wood for the wood stove. She turned her back for 2 minutes and, like a toddler, Luna disappeared.

She went into the yard and shouted for the dog. Then she moved up to the deck. Then she moved 50 feet up the hill.

I put my sneakers on, grabbed my scarf, hoody, and coat and joined the search.

As my SIL went further in one direction, I headed in the opposite, both of us shouting for the dog to come back.

I made my way up the hill, through the brush, yards, and property of neighbors, calling for Luna over and over with no response.

Where could this silly dog be God?

It’s cold today, in the 30s, but the wind makes it feel like the 20s. I climbed up to the top of the hill. No dog. I climbed over the top into a wide open field. No dog. I traipsed through the field 100 yards to the other side. No dog. I climbed through briers and brush, over a log into the next field. No dog.

Please God. It’s too much. We can’t lose the beloved family dog!

I made my way to the road. By this time, my ears were numb from the cold. I had to go home to warm up. As I walked the long way home, I called out for the dog and prayed. I was suddenly reminded of the parable of the lost sheep.

The Parable of the Lost Sheep

15 Now the tax collectors and sinners were all drawing near to hear him. 2 And the Pharisees and the scribes grumbled, saying, “This man receives sinners and eats with them.”

3 So he told them this parable: 4 “What man of you, having a hundred sheep, if he has lost one of them, does not leave the ninety-nine in the open country, and go after the one that is lost, until he finds it? 5 And when he has found it, he lays it on his shoulders, rejoicing. 6 And when he comes home, he calls together his friends and his neighbors, saying to them, ‘Rejoice with me, for I have found my sheep that was lost.’ 7 Just so, I tell you, there will be more joy in heaven over one sinner who repents than over ninety-nine righteous persons who need no repentance.

I was sad to think I was going back to the house without Luna because I’m made of flesh and mine was getting way too cold to carry on looking. Thank you God that in your supernatural strength, you are able to find the lost and bring them home. Please please please find Luna too!

I set my face toward the house and prayed. As I approached the house, all was quiet. My heart dropped. But when I opened the door, a familiar bark! Praise God! Thank you Jesus!

My SIL said after crying in the woods for 10 minutes, she came home. Luna was sitting on the back deck waiting for her! Dogs!

After all this drama, she decided to stop the madness, lay down, and rest. A short time later, the phone rang. It was her mom. The diagnosis? Peptic ulcer. Yes! Yes! Yes! God is good!

His… Michelle
Philippians1:20

Linking up with the story tellers @ #TellHisStory.

2 thoughts on “unexpected hike: the lost dog/sheep parallel

Comments are closed.