The Patient Who Didn’t Need Me

This story is written by my friend, the incomparable Catherine Clark Murphy. It’s a beautiful story about an amazing patient we had in Guinea. I hope you love it as much as I do.

His… Michelle
Philippians 1:20

My Life Aquatic

My job around here is to write stories, to give people a sense of the difference free healthcare makes in the developing world. I do this with the hope that somewhere, someone, maybe you, will read about the work Mercy Ships is doing and want to support us. We couldn’t do what we do without our incredible donors. Your generosity amazes me every time I walk down the hospital corridor.

During our time in Guinea, I wrote a lot about a man named Thierno. Thierno was a rising Guinean soccer star until a benign tumor began to grow in his jaw. In the U.S., Thierno’s tumor would have been removed in a dentist’s chair under local anesthesia before it was even visible. On his way out of his dentist’s office, a nice lady at the desk would have smiled and said ‘we’re all good here, I filed with…

View original post 594 more words

