plastic pearls

The following story is taken from the “Choosing Joy” devotional by Angela Thomas.

There was a four-year old girl who had been taken to the toy store by her mom. At the toy store, the little girl was completely enchanted by all the princess dress-up clothes and accessories. The little girl especially loved a necklace of plastic pearls, so her mother bought them for her.

The little girl insisted she always had to wear those pearls. She wore the pearls while she slept, in the sandbox, taking a bath. She never wanted to take them off. ‘I am a princess,’ she declared, ‘and a princess always wears her pearls.’ Months went by and over time those plastic pearls began to show their use. The string was dirty. The paint was chipping. The clasp had eventually been taped back together.

Every night before bedtime, this little girl crawled into her daddy’s lap to snuggle and talk about the day. One night, her daddy asked, ‘little princess, do you love me?’

‘I love you, Daddy, I love you’, the little girl joyfully replied. ‘Will you give me your pearls?’ her father asked. ‘No, Daddy, they’re mine. I’m a princess.’ Her father kissed her on the forehead and the pajama-clad girl scooted off to bed.

The next night at snuggle time, her father asked the same question, ‘do you love me?’ ‘Oh, Daddy, you know I do,’ the little girl responded. ‘Will you give me your pearls?’ he asked. The little girl was adamant again, ‘daddy, I am a princess’ then quickly slid down and ran to her room.

The third night, the little girl, fearing the question that might come, was hesitant to snuggle with her dad. But love won out and the little girl rested her head on her dad’s strong shoulder. ‘Do you love me?’ he asked. Big crocodile tears fell from the little girl’s eyes and, unable to speak through her tears, she nodded her head yes. The little girl loved her dad. ‘Will you give me your necklace?’ He calmly asked for the third night in a row.

That night the little girl ever so slowly unwound the tape that held her pearls together and obediently gave them to the father she loved. With one hand, her father took the strand of worn-out, plastic pearls and tossed them into the fire. With the other hand, he reached into his pocket and gave to his daughter a new strand of beautiful, real pearls. Exactly the kind that a princess should wear.

The Lord put this story in my head over the weekend. I’ve been so much like this over the last 8 weeks here. My boys wanted to know why I didn’t tell them I was so sad? Because I knew you’d tell me to come home and I didn’t want to come home. I don’t want to let people down.

So I’m leaving tomorrow night. I’m actually really excited to be going home now. You’ve shown me nothing but love and respect and encouragement from the minute I told you what was happening.

I am so thankful to have you all in my life, whether I know you in real life or internet life. I am blessed beyond anything I ever dreamed could be possible 8 years ago.

Thank you for loving me. Thank you for supporting me. Thank you for encouraging me. Thank you for your friendship. I am blessed. God is good.

His… Michelle
Philippians 1:20

8 thoughts on “plastic pearls

  1. Dear Micey
    How old are you sons? I was wondering is perhaps they might need their momma a bit more that the ship need you at the moment! But remember if ever you can, you can come and visit here in the Sunny South Africa. Your sons might be the real pearls Pappa is hanging around your neck at the moment. We love you so much, my sister, and I am glad to hear you sound a bit more hopeful.
    Blessings XX
    Mia

    • My boys are actually 22 and 27 Mia. But they are definitely real pearls to me. I definitely want to visit South Africa and may well do that sometime in 2015. I’m sure you’ll be in the know about it too because I’d love to meet you. 😊

  2. Dear Sweet Michelle, I know that GOD has BIG plans for your future ! 🙂 Psalm 40:5 You have BLESSED Ben and Elizabeth Tucker soooooooooooo much!!! Thank you from the bottom of my heart! Ben was honored to have had you in HIS Gateway group—he has lots of great memories and smiles from that!! You have blessed us with your GREAT posts so please do not stop sending this to us!!! We love to hear from you and hear how GOD is working in your life!! You do have so much going for you….you are a GREAT nurse with a BIG sweet heart of love to help others!! You have shared your heart with us and that has encouraged me soooooooooooooooo much! You will continue to serve the Lord no matter where you go…….HE has big plans so keep your eyes and heart open to HIS leading!!! Thank for being special to me and Ben and Elizabeth!!! You have made a difference in our lives! Ben and ELiz are BOTH in the RN nursing program now. I know that fact would make you proud and excited for their future. Pray for ELiz—-she is having her 1st day in Intensive care/ CCU today…she left home at 4:50 am to get there early and get prepared….pray…she was stressed just a little 🙂 Give our love to your boys and THANK them for SHARING YOU with us!! WE LOVE YOU! Come to see us if you are ever near us…we live near Lynchburg, VA…home of Liberty University!!! about 1 hr from this great university Love in JESUS, Robyn Tucker Date: Tue, 22 Oct 2013 12:59:10 +0000 To: aiming4heaven@hotmail.com

    • Thank you so much for your kind words Robyn. You’ve got a couple of really great kids there in Ben and Elizabeth. They are really great. I’m excited for all the Lord is going to do in their lives. I will be praying for them. God has such great plans. Thank you for reading and sharing your love and support and prayers. They mean so much to me! ❤ I love Virginia so it would be great to come and see all of you some time!

  3. I don’t think you let any people down. God guided you to that ship to do his work and God chose to have you go home now to begin the next journey. Look for his hand – you’ve been doing his work for a long time. He knows what you will do next in your life.

    • I know you’re right Aunt Kay! I want to see you when I come home this week! I want to meet your new doggie and see how much your hair has grown. 😁

Comments are closed.