Five Minute Friday: Ordinary

20130301-174203.jpg
Write for five minutes. Don’t think too hard. Just write. Then share over @thegypsymama. There’s only one rule. Visit the link before yours and leave a comment.

The word this week is ordinary.

GO

I wake up every morning, walk 100 steps to a dining room that seats 400 to pick up 1 cup of coffee from a giant coffee maker and walk 100 steps back to a room that sleeps 4 at any given time. I walk 75 steps to a job I normally have to drive to because my work place isn’t usually in my home. At the end of the day I walk back 75 steps to the room I left just 9 hours earlier to take a 2 minute shower so I can go to dinner where I will run into every single person I just got done working with because my home is in my place of employment or my place of employment is in my home. After dinner on Fridays I have date night with 3 boys from Texas who love video games and movie night and eat popcorn 1 kernel at a time. I wait 14 to 56 days for mail to arrive from flying 3000 plus miles away. I wait until 5pm to talk to my boys at 12pm because there’s a 5 hour time difference until daylight savings time when I will have to make it 6pm to talk to them at 12pm because they don’t do daylight savings time here in Africa. AND God thought it was a very good idea for me to travel thousands of miles for him to show me I am still too full of anger and bitterness instead of just showing me at home.

This is no ordinary life.

STOP

His… Michelle
Philippians 1:20

20131011-172819.jpg

12 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Ordinary

    • Thanks Jessica. My boys are my favorite people in the whole world. You should know they’re actually 22 and 27. πŸ˜‰ They’ll always be my boys though. Happy FMF!

  1. Dear Micey
    At the moment I am visiting family in Port Elizabeth, but when we get back home on Sunday, I want to write you a letter. Praying for you, dear sister! Just keep on keeping your eyes on Jesus.
    Blessings and live XX
    Mia

  2. Look at who I linked up after at Spiritual Sundays! Do you really count your steps? I may start doing that. I wonder how many steps it is from my couch to the fridge? Hmm…. πŸ™‚

    Praying for you today, my sister. May His peace and joy fill your heart.

    • Haha! Those were just estimated numbers. It’s actually 120 steps from my front door to the coffee machine in the dining room and 82 steps from my front door to the front door of the OR. I hope your fridge is a LOT closer to your living room than ours is. πŸ˜‰ Thanks for your prayers sister!

  3. Counting the steps? You are not an ordinary person. You are extraordinary. I’m glad you get to talk to your boys. Sure they will always be your boys. My mother still called me her baby when she was in her 80s and I was in my 60s. If she was still alive she would still be calling me her baby even though I’m 77 now. LOL
    Blessings as you continue your important work.
    Charlotte

    • Haha! I’m glad I’m not the only one who does that. I think it can be confusing to the ladies with small children. I don’t want folks to get the impression I left small children behind to work on a ship for two years. Haha!

Comments are closed.