Treasure in Jars of Clay

2 Corinthians 4

7 But we have this treasure in jars of clay, to show that the surpassing power belongs to God and not to us. 8 We are afflicted in every way, but not crushed; perplexed, but not driven to despair; 9 persecuted, but not forsaken; struck down, but not destroyed; 10 always carrying in the body the death of Jesus, so that the life of Jesus may also be manifested in our bodies. 11 For we who live are always being given over to death for Jesus’ sake, so that the life of Jesus also may be manifested in our mortal flesh. 12 So death is at work in us, but life in you.

13 Since we have the same spirit of faith according to what has been written, “I believed, and so I spoke,” we also believe, and so we also speak, 14 knowing that he who raised the Lord Jesus will raise us also with Jesus and bring us with you into his presence. 15 For it is all for your sake, so that as grace extends to more and more people it may increase thanksgiving, to the glory of God.

16 So we do not lose heart. Though our outer self is wasting away, our inner self is being renewed day by day. 17 For this light momentary affliction is preparing for us an eternal weight of glory beyond all comparison, 18 as we look not to the things that are seen but to the things that are unseen. For the things that are seen are transient, but the things that are unseen are eternal.

I don’t know why, but I’ve had a real struggle with finding joy here lately? I can’t put my finger on it. I’m surrounded by folks who I really believe love me. Still I struggle to get out of bed in the morning to face the day. I’ve decided I will look for things to be thankful for despite my mood.

I was entrusted with giving the new crew their orientation today. Jen is the OR educator. Her orientation packet made it a breeze to orient the new crew. At the end, each nurse thanked me and told me I did a good job. I am blessed.

After work, feeling upbeat, I decided to join a couple of the British ward nurses for dinner. I love to hear them speak. There’s something so fun about their accents. Their voices sound musical to me and make me feel cheerful. Another blessing.

After dinner, I checked Facebook. I confess I have a bit of a Facebook addiction. What can I say? I discovered a message from another crew member who’s been down too. She told me she’s having trouble praying for herself so she prayed for me. How sweet is that? I returned the prayer and blessing to her.

Then I discovered another donation from people I don’t know. Blessing upon blessing.

The OR leaders have started biweekly meetings with the long term OR nurses to see how we’re doing. I so appreciate this. It’s unlike any other job I’ve ever had. Out there when you get called into the office, it’s usually because you did something wrong. Not true here. Here, my supervisor wants to encourage me and pray for me. What a blessing. When my supervisor asked me if I was hearing from God, I said not much. But now I realize I’ve been hearing from Him in tremendous ways! He’s been faithfully sending His people to cheer me up. Everyday. I’ve just been blind.

I know my redeemer lives. I know He loves me unconditionally. I know this light momentary affliction is preparing me for an eternal weight of glory beyond all comparison. I know because He put these verses in my mind as I wondered if He’s speaking to me. Don’t lose heart.

God is so good, isn’t He?

His… Michelle
Philippians 1:20

20131007-204706.jpg

8 thoughts on “Treasure in Jars of Clay

  1. Michelle, you write so beautifully and so authentically. That is what I love and appreciate about you. No masks. Just Michelle. It says you trust us with your heart. Thank you for that. Your trust is a precious gift that I cherish.

    • Thank you friend! I cherish your friendship as well. And I love that I read this comment hearing your beautiful South African accent I love so much. ☺

  2. Dear Micey
    Verse 17 is one of my favorite verses for whenever I feel I cannot go on one more day with the Fm/CFS, it is as if Pappa reminds me that what I am going through is not worth comparing the glory that awaits us one day when we are all home with Him. Praying that He wraps you in His love, joy and peace.
    Blessings XX
    Mia

    • Thank you Mia. I pray the same for you. Thank you for your friendship. Thank you for your encouraging words. I pray for you to be pain free. ❤

  3. Micey, I don’t get to check in or comment often, but I see you in my reader and am often encouraged and inspired by you and your faith in action. This passage is a powerful one. So is the concept of gratitude. I also have to remind myself to count my blessings and see the small things when I’m overwhelmed by the big pressures. Thank you for sharing a piece of yourself with us and know that you are so appreciated even by those of us who don’t have the privilege of knowing you in person or telling you often!

Comments are closed.