Of Sunsets, Starbucks, And Survival French

Today turned into a nice low key day. I was assigned to be in charge today, but was quickly relieved when an extra nurse showed up without an assignment. So I got to work on a small project instead. I put together a checklist for the crash cart, nothing too flashy but helpful to us. I also got to print my latest family portraits to plaster on my cave walls.

After dinner, I finally managed to get up top to see a sunset. The weather here is mostly cloudy. All. The. Time. I’m not complaining. The temperature stays a balmy 80 degrees and the clouds provide natural sunscreen. But I was super excited to finally see my old friend as he disappeared over the horizon on his journey across the Atlantic to the USA.

Speaking of the USA, the catastrophe of the last 24 hours was the sudden demise of the Starbucks espresso machine! This is like a really big deal people! I almost bought a plane ticket home. I know. I know. It’s not a legitimate reason to buy a plane ticket home. But. Like. Whatever! Thankfully, the Lord knows the things that really throw me into fits and sent 2 ship electricians to the rescue. (They’re getting a surprise from me to say thank you.) I really think there’s some correlation between the espresso machine breaking and the federal government shutdown. Coincidence? I think not.

After the happy discovery of the repaired espresso machine, I went off to take Survival French. Given the events of the last few weeks out in the city, mainly strange men touching me and me being at a complete loss for words, I figure Survival French is imperative for moi. This class should prove to be very helpful. The teacher is the academy French teacher. French is her first language. The class is divided into 2 week blocks. The first week is spent learning how to do some skill, like order in a restaurant. The second week, we will go out into the city and practice what we learned the first week. I think this is a superb idea. I’ll be killing 2 birds with 1 stone, learning French and getting over my fear of strangers touching me (I hope).

The only other thing to report is recent housing changes are making me crazy. I can’t stop thinking I’m just being a big whiny baby about everything. But each little thing is adding up to a big thing and really is making me want to throw in the towel. I’m clearly not as flexible as I once thought. Please pray for me.

His… Michelle
Philippians 1:20

20131001-214622.jpg

4 thoughts on “Of Sunsets, Starbucks, And Survival French

  1. Dear Micey
    I think the French lessons are a good thing, my friend. I am so sorry that you are going through a difficult time and I wish I could email a big hug to you! Oh, Micey, I will pray that Pappa will show His strength in a mighty way in your weakness. He sort of loves doing just that. Just remember, my house is always open if you need a little time off or want to come and visit. Love you so much, dear sister.
    Mia

    • Thanks Mia. I’m praying for a breakthrough. I know all this misery is self inflicted. It’s high time I lift my eyes to the hills. Thank you for the invitation. I may take you up on it at some point. ❤

  2. Funny post!
    and remember…
    Il n’y a aucune une telle chose comme une coïncidence…
    which is English for:
    “there is no such thing as a coincidence”
    Cheers

Comments are closed.