Five Minute Friday: Mercy

20130301-174203.jpg
Write for five minutes. Then share over @thegypsymama.

This week the word is mercy.

GO

When I hear the word mercy, I always think of the following quote:

Justice is getting what you deserve. Mercy is not getting what you deserve. Grace is getting what you don’t deserve.

Having mercy on someone means forgiving them for hurting you, letting someone off the hook, loving someone when no one else will.

But mercy means more than just not getting what I deserve. Mercy looked down on me from heaven, pulled me from the pit of hell, and placed me back on solid ground. Mercy is a gift, one of the very best gifts I’ve ever received.

Because of mercy, I am merciful. Mercy has sent me to live on a big white ship, away from every person I’ve ever loved so the unloved might experience what I received. Mercy looks the outcast in the eyes and says I see you. You are not invisible to me.

STOP

The little guy with the suffocating tumor went home yesterday. After many long months of suffering, he was finally able to say mama. There is no word on his official diagnosis yet. But the Lord has been merciful in His care of this family.

Our Nigerian friend continues to do very well after having his mandible removed. He will be with us for a little while longer before going home. He will need a second surgery in a few months. The Lord was merciful in orchestrating all his movements that brought him to us.

His… Michelle
Philippians 1:20

Also linked with Spiritual Sundays

20130913-194334.jpg
Breathing easy again

20130913-194415.jpg
Before

20130913-194444.jpg
After

Photos courtesy of Mercy Ships photographers. They rock!

14 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Mercy

  1. It’s lovely that God was merciful to your friend and he could go home. Love and blessings to you in this life on the ship serving God. Thanks to Him remembering to be merciful to us our sins are in the sea of His forgetfulness.

  2. Dear Micey
    This is wonderful news! I have been praying for this young man and was wondering how he was doing! You know, dear friend, I think Pappa shows us great mercy to allow us to love these precious children of His.
    Blessings XX
    Mia

    • Oh hey Alicia! Thanks for stopping by. I think it’s amazing your 9 year old feels called to missions already! Wow! Thank you for your prayers. I hope you’ll visit again to read about all the life transformations on the Africa Mercy. If there’s anything specific you’d like to know about Mercy Ships, let me know.

  3. Your work reminds me of my late husband, also a doctor, who came to medicine after a horrendous accident caused the amputation of one leg and the reconstruction of the other put paid to his career as an engineer, who always maintained, ‘the Lord never closes a door without He opens a window. for…’as he went on to add, ‘I’d never have dreamed of becoming a doctor had I not spent two years getting back on my feet in a hospital, and realising it had all happened for a purpose; I was meant to be a doctor, and nothing feels better than knowing you can make thing better for so many.’

    May the Lord continue to bless you and all who work in His name.

Comments are closed.